Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 42

    new here

    This is a discussion on new here within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guys n gals.. im seeking some information .. ok firstly me and my family have been with sky for ...

    1. #1
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new here

      hi guys n gals..

      im seeking some information .. ok firstly me and my family have been with sky for eternity altho we have recently upgraded to sky broadband after being with various other companys and the fact we have had sky for X amount of years .

      then there was the adverts 3 for 20 plus upto 20meg broadband .. well we already had the tv we dont need the phone line but we got the internet based on the upto 20meg .

      ok basically long story short . after being subject to a fair users policy (on unlimited upto 20meg) we were paying just under 20 for unlimited broadband (upto 20meg) notice i say this alot .. up untill last week when we rang sky and they reduced the bill to the said 12.50 unlimited upto 20meg broadband ..

      ok thing is since we have had sky unlimited we have never reached over 2meg just done a speed test and here are the results ..

      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 1672Kbps, and your current upload speed is 604Kbps.

      ! i think this is wrong the fact that its upto 20meg and we are paying the same as everyone else ..Sky Broadband Unlimited 20 meg 12 Mths 12.50 average dl 4402.69 average upload 530.23
      i know this relates to the locations of the exchange .. my local exchange is north shields tyne & wear .. i live in north shields tyne & wear . when i goto speed test uk at mine it states my server is norcombe (Leicestershire) and that i am recieving 1.73mbps etc.. when i do a speed test on my brother (20mins away his says his local server is north shields and he is recieving between 15-20meg conection ! ) altho he is using a sky netgear DG 834 GT Netgear router or similar and im using the standard black one think its the v1 or v2 not sure if its the Netgear DG934G- 1SUKUKS its the latter one as we have only had the broadband pack for over a year ..

      also when i goto router settings and sky test this is what i recieve

      SKY PPPOA TEST
      Detecting PPPOA connection

      Please wait a moment...

      The Sky Test was unable to detect the Internet connection


      Error code:300

      clearly could be part of my problem i mean when sky were testing the lines for 72hrs my internet jumped up from 2meg to 5meg to10meg to 15me then back to 1.5 meg where it has stayed ! is there anything i could maybe try to resolve this
      just we have 2 main laptops running mostly just for social networking and stuff and a 360 that basically aint worth paying the 40 a year subscription to keep gettin cut off

      anyway thanks for reading this hope for a reply soon
      Last edited by kz3e; 20-09-10 at 11:58 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: new here

      In the router stats page, what is your line attenuation and noise margin?

      How are you connected to the router (wired or wireless)?

      Is you router connected to the master socket?

      Does every device in the house that is plugged into a phone socket have a filter?

      Oh and Sky Unlimited is 12.50pm (wthout sky talk) whether you can only get 1Mb or 20Mb.

    4. #3
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new here

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1977 kbps 752 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 11 db

      there are filters in all phone sockets (most keep faulting so i have plenty spare lol)
      and everything is wireless except for the main laptop downstairs is wired into router
      not too sure what you mean about master socket there is a seperate socket that is connected to the internet and the phone line in the kitchen but there are also 3 other phone sockets which of 2 are not being used

    5. #4
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new here

      can i also state that above it says that i have sky basic ..
      i actually have sky+
      basic sky + 1 package according to the statements :-/

    6. #5
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new here

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      In the router stats page, what is your line attenuation and noise margin?

      How are you connected to the router (wired or wireless)?

      Is you router connected to the master socket?

      Does every device in the house that is plugged into a phone socket have a filter?

      Oh and Sky Unlimited is 12.50pm (wthout sky talk) whether you can only get 1Mb or 20Mb.
      we were paying at least 20 due to restriction also we never understood how u could get restricted on unlimited and then they dropped us down to 12.50 lol

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: new here

      Quote Originally Posted by kz3e View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1977 kbps 752 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 11 db

      there are filters in all phone sockets (most keep faulting so i have plenty spare lol)
      and everything is wireless except for the main laptop downstairs is wired into router
      not too sure what you mean about master socket there is a seperate socket that is connected to the internet and the phone line in the kitchen but there are also 3 other phone sockets which of 2 are not being used
      Okay, your internal wiring is at fault.

      Check my link at the bottom about testing the master socket and post back with your stats.

    8. #7
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new here

      cheers i shall have a look 2moro as its too late to mess on with stuff now lol and il be happy to send my feedback

    9. #8
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: new here

      kz3e
      Hi to help solve your issues you need to do as reddwarfcrew has asked How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket also if you are having issues with a speed tester why not use this the SkyUser own Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

    10. #9
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new here

      Exchange: North Shields BT Code: NENS
      Location: Stephenson Street NE30 1BJ
      Distance:- Direct:
      1.43 mi
      (appx)* By Road:
      1.9 mi
      Service Enabled On
      ADSL Enabled: March 31, 2000
      DSL Max Enabled: March 31, 2006
      SDSL Enabled: May 15, 2005
      21CN due: (PSTN) No Info
      21CN WBC: (Broadband) April 30, 2008
      Your BT Line Speed Estimation
      Fixed ADSL: 1024 (1 Mb)
      DSL Max: 3500 (3 Mb)

      so does that mean a maximum of 3meg only

      that would be better that just under 2meg like lol

    11. #10
      kz3e's Avatar
      kz3e is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: north shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new here

      Quote Originally Posted by kz3e View Post
      Exchange: North Shields BT Code: NENS
      Location: Stephenson Street NE30 1BJ
      Distance:- Direct:
      1.43 mi
      (appx)* By Road:
      1.9 mi
      Service Enabled On
      ADSL Enabled: March 31, 2000
      DSL Max Enabled: March 31, 2006
      SDSL Enabled: May 15, 2005
      21CN due: (PSTN) No Info
      21CN WBC: (Broadband) April 30, 2008
      Your BT Line Speed Estimation
      Fixed ADSL: 1024 (1 Mb)
      DSL Max: 3500 (3 Mb)

      so does that mean a maximum of 3meg only

      that would be better that just under 2meg like lol
      RAG Code: AGEC

      Fixed: Long line green for 1Mbps, Red for 2Mbps
      RA ADSL: 512kbps and 256kbps available
      Exch Info: Exchange ADSL enabled
      Line Info: Compatibility issue found. This could be several things eg. existing ADSL connection, pending ADSL order on line, ISDN, DACS, TPON, LLU, some alarm systems.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION