Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Broadband not so broad!

    This is a discussion on Broadband not so broad! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My broadband is hit and miss at the moment. Any ideas??? Ther are my stats for the connection Port Status ...

    1. #1
      pete9288's Avatar
      pete9288 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      peterborough
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband not so broad!

      My broadband is hit and miss at the moment. Any ideas???
      Ther are my stats for the connection

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9 6 0 0 0 0:00:00
      LAN 787 1514 0 0 0 1:02:09
      WLAN 3926 3905 0 0 0 1:01:47
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 128 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.9 db 16.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      Are you in your test socket? If not can you post a set of stats from there too?

    4. #3
      pete9288's Avatar
      pete9288 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      peterborough
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      Here are the stats with the faceplate removed and plugged in the test socket.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17532 15250 0 58 91 0:45:45
      LAN 2670 3078 0 148 86 1:48:07
      WLAN 18303 20792 0 0 0 1:47:45
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 128 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 30.1 db 16.0 db

      This is with an ethernet rj45 cable not wireless
      Last edited by pete9288; 18-09-10 at 06:44 PM. Reason: added info

    5. #4
      telephone88's Avatar
      telephone88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      Look how much your noise margin has shot up while in the test socket. Something is not right when plugged in the frontal faceplate. The noise issue has caused your line to be capped to 128 kbps. You will need to sort out the problem with the faceplate and call sky to have your cap lifted.

      Explain your setup with the faceplate on. Should be filter first with router connected to that and everything else in the other side of the filter

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      My money is on a sky tv splitter incorrectly/not filtered. I take it you have sky tv plugged into one of your extension sockets?

    7. #6
      pete9288's Avatar
      pete9288 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      peterborough
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      I am also having issues with my sky talk phone line. I have crackling on the line constantly. Will this be affecting my broadband as im waiting for openreach to pull their heads out of their a***s.

    8. #7
      telephone88's Avatar
      telephone88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      That noise is exactly the problem. Could be something simple though like an unfiltered extension. Can you explain your normal setup? How many other sockets, what's connected to them etc etc. The more info the better.

    9. #8
      pete9288's Avatar
      pete9288 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      peterborough
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      I have my main socket in the living room with an extension hard wired into it. The extension has my HD box and my telephone running from it. When i had my HD installed the "SKY Engineer" ran another extension from my main socket to my master bedroom for my SKY+ box. With the faceplate removed though all these are null and void i presume. The telephone plugged into the master socket still has the line noise and with the filter plugged into the test socket and just the RJ11 for the modem my download speed is pans to say the least. Everything is run through filters which incidentally are all brand new out of the packet. I do appreciate your help in this

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      Anything on the sockets must fit to it via a filter, do not mistake the double adaptor the sky tv installer will fit for the television lead for a filter. it is nothing but a double telephone adaptor that needs a filter on the socket before it is plugged in. Check any socket on your line that is in use and make sure the first thing plugged into the socket is an adsl filter, as a check unplug everything from the line except your filter and router and check your stats again.

    11. #10
      pete9288's Avatar
      pete9288 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      peterborough
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband not so broad!

      The last stats i posted were the filter plugged into the test socket with just the modem RJ11 cable fitted. Everything else in the house is disconnected. I am now having to use my 3 mobile internet dongle as my broadband is not working at all now. The dongle is ten times faster than my broadband now. The dongle is managing to achieve 1690 Kbps download!!! That is nearly as much as my SKY was getting when all was working.
      Last edited by pete9288; 18-09-10 at 08:02 PM. Reason: added info

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION