Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Connect and new BT line Question

    This is a discussion on Sky Connect and new BT line Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I actually managed to get through to SKY BB a few weeks ago after waiting for a few hours, ...

    1. #1
      Wigsta's Avatar
      Wigsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Connect and new BT line Question

      Hi,

      I actually managed to get through to SKY BB a few weeks ago after waiting for a few hours, but was told that I wasn't able to get on the free service for a while and the only service they had was Sky Connect - 40 activation and 17 a month. I went with it as it's better than paying NTL nearly 40 a month.

      Back in August, I decided to get a BT line installed and cancel my NTL line. It was installed in days.

      What I wan't to know, is the BB already activated on BT's behalf during the new line installation?

      And in average, how long will it take for the router to get delivered?

      I would imagine that if I am paying 40 for the fee, then surely I should get the setup quicker than someone who is signing up for the free 10 a month service?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I would imagine that if I am paying 40 for the fee, then surely I should get the setup quicker than someone who is signing up for the free 10 a month service?
      Nope the 40 is the payment made for connection, as that is what BT charge Sky.

      If you were on the other packages, Sky have there own hardware and so they absorb the charge. The connect package Sky effectively rent the connection off BT

      So nope you wouldnt be first in the queue so to spk.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      old mcdonal's Avatar
      old mcdonal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      not sure about the activaition part.

      but the router is another issue, i have been waiting since 21st sept for mine, my line on sky connect was activated over the w/e. called sky again this morning, and the woman gave the usual cr@p, nothing on their system about my router, i told her this is the 6th day ive called up about my router. they told me last week an email was being sent to another department who deals with router, the guys name i paul (something) he was suppose to call me back but no updates. basically if your line go live and have not received the router then phone sky c/s (billing) and complain they will knock of 17.99 (your monthly connect subscription)

    5. #4
      Wigsta's Avatar
      Wigsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What am I looking for in the BT tracker to show if I'm activated? It says this around the date of my phone line activation.

      PROVIDE PSTN FOR BROADBAND 1 0.0 0.0

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thats what you need and it should have an order date and a Date due for the order to be completed.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      Wigsta's Avatar
      Wigsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well, the order date and the date it was completed is the 14th August... The day my new phone line was installed.

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      They don't put Adsl on new lines they only do that once Adsl is ordered, I know BT can do a news line and re-provide but I think thats only when you are moving house.

      When did you place your order with SkyBB
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      Wigsta's Avatar
      Wigsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The 21st September.

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      AH ok then what you need to see on the checker is this

      PROVIDE BT IPSTREAM MAX 1 0.0 0.0 which is what the Connect package uses
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      Wigsta's Avatar
      Wigsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK thanks. So how long does it usually take to get connected? I know we have many people on here who are waiting weeks and weeks, but is there an average wait time?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION