Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Broadband usage exceeded, not.

    This is a discussion on Broadband usage exceeded, not. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Curious loss of service - email won't sent, and an error message says 'daily sendng quota exceeded'. The broadband screen, ...

    1. #1
      brianjford's Avatar
      brianjford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Curious loss of service - email won't sent, and an error message says 'daily sendng quota exceeded'. The broadband screen, though, says 'the package you are on is truly unlimited'. Their technie's are unable to help, though I have visited captcha page says 'successfully unlocked'.

      I need to send messages to tell people we're leaving Sky, but cannot send anything. Bet some clever dude knows the answer (we don't though). Thanx, chums.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      To clarify, you can browse websites fine but cannot send e-mails? Do you use webmail (i.e. sky.com) or an e-mail client (win mail, outlook etc.) to send/receive e-mail?

    4. #3
      brianjford's Avatar
      brianjford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Yep, can browse fine, thanks.
      Using Windows Mail as client.

    5. #4
      brianjford's Avatar
      brianjford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Also intrigued to see I am described here as being on Base. Sky tell me I am on Sky Broadband Unlimited - and they charge me for that, too!

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      This is just an unofficial site; the default setting is probably 'base'. It's something you need to change yourself personally, but it has no bearing on your actual package.

      In regards to the issue, I don't know personally, but a quick google search returns the following:

      Sending limits - Gmail Help

      Do you send a lot of e-mails / attachments?

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Yeah, there's a spam filter on so you can't send more than x emails an hour/day...just try again later
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      brianjford's Avatar
      brianjford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Not many - but we have sent perhaps 200 this morning. There are 2,500 addresses I need to circulate with the info, and we'd do that - say - 150 at a time. In any event, the package does celebrate the unlimitedness and you'd need millions to raise a warning, eh?

      Oh - thanks for the timely 'base' explanation!

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Unlimited is not linked to email, you'll be falling foul of the spam filter...you'll need to send them out over time. It's the Google filter, btw - not something Sky can change
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Quote Originally Posted by brianjford View Post
      In any event, the package does celebrate the unlimitedness and you'd need millions to raise a warning, eh?
      Unlimited refers to the bandwidth you have available i.e. you can download as much as you want until your heart is content and Sky won't say a thing. The message you're receiving is from google as you've triggered their spam filter - nothing to do with Sky.

    11. #10
      brianjford's Avatar
      brianjford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband usage exceeded, not.

      Ahem, this is because Sky route through Google. But we pay the money to Sky, and they cannot abrogate responsibilities. I need to tell people of the new ISP, and this is preventing us doing it.

      How can one speak to Mr Google's representative on earth? Any ideas?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION