Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Router Damaged?

    This is a discussion on Router Damaged? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive got old netgear white (DG834GT) from 2007 and suffer from many problems. Main one seems to be the noise ...

    1. #1
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Damaged?

      Ive got old netgear white (DG834GT) from 2007 and suffer from many problems. Main one seems to be the noise margin syncing at 7db which I think it is supposed to, but then decreasing over time until it just drops at like 1-2db. Had BT out numerous times and the line is all ok. This possibly a router issue. When i moved house in 2008 i did drop the router and sometimes when you move it about bits rattle inside which is not goodm but it still seems to work.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2016 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.9 db 20.0 db

      Stats atm it synced at 2mb this morning after it was having a few issues only connecting at 416kbps (DLM was my first thought) at 7db but then after a while and a few reboots later speed went up. Max i can get is 3200kbps, which is good for my attenuation. So is these drop outs cos router might be damaged or is a bit old?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      If you reboot your router with that noise margin your speed should go up, if it doesn't it means its capped. If it is, call Sky and ask them to raise your speed a bit. Changes in the noise margin are nearly always due to noise on your line, a faulty router is seldom to blame. BT will nearly always say the line is OK as they are only testing for faults which effect the voice performance, not broadband,

      Have you tried plugging into your Test socket?
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Yeah but i dont see how its the line the engineer showed me there is no problems with it. its plugged into the master socket with an NTE2000 faceplate. So i doubt its that. Im just not sure, I wonder if its worth talking to sky again.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Its probably worth trying Sky on for a new router, but don't tell them you dropped it. Don't agree to pay for a new one either, just say your not happy being forced to use their router and having to pay for it, when you could easily buy a better router yourself.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      When you get through to CST and they see you still have the phase 1 from 2007, it'll basically be a straight replacement.

    7. #6
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Yes, I'll give them a ring on Monday. My godfather (friend of family) is a BT engineer he put the master socket on and did the line for our house, tbh hes not going to tell me lies, and he has check the line from house to green box (which is one of those overhead cables) and says its fine. Forgot to mention that in the first post. So the only thing i can think it is would be the router. I didn't realize 3 years was old for a router.

    8. #7
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Yep, its just been dropping out all evening no crackling on phone line or anything all fingers are pointing to the router or a problem at skys end.

      New Stats...

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1856 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 4.9 db 19.0 db

    9. #8
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Hi, when my bband speeds dropped down to between 500-600kbps, i rang sky on numerous occasions, about this, all cst said was that there was no problems with line, and i was not capped!!!!!, they wanted to charge me 28, for a new router, they would not move on this, so i moved isp now receiving speeds of around 3.6 mbps.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Quote Originally Posted by markm9 View Post
      Hi, when my bband speeds dropped down to between 500-600kbps, i rang sky on numerous occasions, about this, all cst said was that there was no problems with line, and i was not capped!!!!!, they wanted to charge me 28, for a new router, they would not move on this, so i moved isp now receiving speeds of around 3.6 mbps.
      It used to be at the agent's discretion as to whether they replace for free or not for OOW routers, unless that's changed as I've been away on holiday for a while. I can't even remember the last time I charged for an OOW router.

    11. #10
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Damaged?

      Ok ive rang sky and spoke a delightful Indian chap who kept asking if my day was ok. He says my router was due for an upgrade anyway. And has posted one out to me and will arrive in 3-5 working days. Ive also spoke to BT and got them to send an engineer out to see if they can sort the cracking on my line. Any ideas which type of router this will be?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION