Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

    This is a discussion on Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can someone please help me? I have recently got a Linksys WAG160N to replace my sky router. My knowledge of ...

    1. #1
      vatos's Avatar
      vatos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      Can someone please help me?

      I have recently got a Linksys WAG160N to replace my sky router. My knowledge of these things isn’t great, and at the moment it's not working. Below are the steps I have taken....

      -I connect to the WAG160N by ethernet cable. I believe you have to do this in order to set it up, then you can use wireless after?

      -I’ve used James’ Utility to retrieve the ADSL user name and password, and placed them into the page on 192.168.1.1

      -I reboot both the laptop and router

      -The following lights are on on the router: power, ethernet, wireless, DSL, and internet

      -I can’t connect to the internet! I keep getting the sky page saying internet not connecting!
      I found a post on these forums suggesting I go to Command Prompt and run ipconfig /all, then post the results. Please see below..........

      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
      Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AH-PC
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WAG160N

      Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-4C-E5-59-C2-38
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WAG160N
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-9E-99-7E-DC
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f460:6175:5c73:98df%11(Preferred)
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10 September 2010 21:46:29
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 September 2010 21:46:29
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
      DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890910
      DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-F7-BB-65-00-26-9E-99-7E-DC

      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

      Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

      Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:8d3:e33:3f57:fe9b(Prefer
      red)
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8d3:e33:3f57:fe9b%13(Preferred)
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
      NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

      Tunnel adapter isatap.{BC8F402D-6F11-40AE-923B-22FD5BBF0CC0}:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WAG160N
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      What Sky page are you referring to. Did you use the CD to set up your original connection? What firewall/security are you running?

      Can you start in Safe Mode with Networking and see if you can connect?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      In addition in your new router status pages does it say connected?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #4
      vatos's Avatar
      vatos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      The sky page that says I can't connect is.....
      http://192.168.0.1/sky_information.html

      I am on windows 7 firewall, and using PC tools antivirus free.

      I have tried using safe mode with networking, still no luck.

      On the router page, in the gateway section, there is a 'connect' and 'disconnect' button. the 'connect' is greyed out, with the 'disconnect' button in bold. So I guess it's connected.

    6. #5
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      That sky page will be served by the old router, you will not be able to access it anymore as you do not have the old router in use. By all accounts if the new router is connected then your problem is with your computers network/firewall configuration.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      First go to the Control Panel, Programs and features. Scroll the list and remove anything you see in connection with Sky Broadband.

      Then try this, go to the Network and Sharing Centre and click the 'Change adapter settings' in the left pane. Right click the adapter icon and select Properties, then double click Internet Protocol V4 and make sure the 'Obtain an IP address automatically' is selected.

      If this does not connect, go back and tick the 'Use the following IP address' and type in -
      IP address..........192.168.1.2
      Subnet...............255.255.255.0
      Default gateway..192.168.1.1

      DNS servers
      Preferred....208.67.222.222
      Alternate....208.67.220.220

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      vatos's Avatar
      vatos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      thank you for all your help....

      I've had a look in control panel, programs, features. There was nothing marked that was in connection with sky broadband.

      I've looked in Network and Sharing Centre, and under 'Internet Protocol V4', 'Obtain an IP address automatically' was already selected.

      I then clicked on the box 'Use the following IP address', and entered the setting as you have stated in the above post. Still no internet, comes back to the same sky error page as I mentioned earlier.

      I haven't used the router cd at any stage. do you think that's the problem?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      Forget about the CD it is a waste of time.

      For some reason it is still trying to connect to the old router. I am thinking it may be a winsock problem try this - Open Command Prompt with Administrator privilege (Press Windows Key and type cmd > Right click on the Command Prompt and choose “Run as Administrator”) and type these commands
      netsh int ip reset C:\netsh.log.txt hit enter.
      netsh winsock reset hit enter and restart the PC.

      If that does not work the only other thing I can think on is to Uninstall and reinstall your network adapter. That may do it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      vatos's Avatar
      vatos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Forget about the CD it is a waste of time.

      For some reason it is still trying to connect to the old router. I am thinking it may be a winsock problem try this - Open Command Prompt with Administrator privilege (Press Windows Key and type cmd > Right click on the Command Prompt and choose “Run as Administrator”) and type these commands
      netsh int ip reset C:\netsh.log.txt hit enter.
      netsh winsock reset hit enter and restart the PC.

      If that does not work the only other thing I can think on is to Uninstall and reinstall your network adapter. That may do it.
      I tried the commands that you mentioned above, still no luck.
      I'm beginning to wonder if it will ever work?!
      I will uninstall/install the network adapter software when I get a chance.will let you know how I get on, thanks for your help.

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Please help me set up my Linksys WAG160N

      Is your sky router totally disconnected? If not unplug it completely. What happens when you type www.google.co.uk into a web browser?
      Additionally run:
      Code:
      ping google.co.uk
      from the command prompt and post the results.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION