Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

    This is a discussion on Wireless Issues with D-Link Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The laptop connects wirelessly to the router no problem. The issue is, when it comes to using the internet, Google ...

    1. #11
      woah's Avatar
      woah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      The laptop connects wirelessly to the router no problem.

      The issue is, when it comes to using the internet, Google Chrome just says that the address could not be resolved. Internet Explorer just shows 'The page could not be displayed.'



      My network and sharing centre looks similar this, but with the Internet symbol greyed out, and a cross on the line between the Network symbol and the Internet symbol.

      Sorry if I'm sounding confusing, this problem has baffled me and I'm having trouble explaining - thanks for the help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      It looks like a firewall/security issue. Do you have a 3rd party firewall running? Do you have the Windows firewall running. If the answer to both is yes, turn off the Windows one. If you only have one running disable it and try to connect.


      Finally start in Safe Mode with Networking and try to connect.

      I am assuming that you can connect to the router, but not the internet. If this is the case it should not be a wireless list issue, which is quite often the problem with a complete failure to connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      Additionally check that your web browsers arent setup to connect via a proxy.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #14
      woah's Avatar
      woah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      Thanks for the help everyone, problem solved. Turns out the internet was being affected by a VirtualBox Virtual Network I had, works fine once that was removed.

      However, the internet DID work with the VirtualBox network switched on, whilst in safe mode. Once I went back into normal Vista the internet worked OK for a few minutes then stopped. And before I changed to Sky, I was connected to an Orange Livebox (which was very tempremental) without an issue and with internet - it's a bit of a mystery. Either way, it's sorted, so thanks

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      Uninstall VBox completely, then re-install it, you might find it works OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      helenmartinez1's Avatar
      helenmartinez1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      How did you get the broadband to work wirelessly with D link router?

      I ask as I had the same problem my pc would connect wirelessly but laptop would not.

      I prev had a netgear router and wireless was fine with it.

      Anyway spoke to Sky and they changed me from WPA to WEP??? And from auto channel select to channel 11.

      I know nothing about what any of this is or does but I can now connect wirelessly with the d link router

    8. #17
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      I have 2 devices connected wirelessly to the new D-Link router. One is a Vista laptop and the other is my iPhone 4. Both connected with no problems at all. I just searched for wireless network, enter the network key and that was it.

    9. #18
      helenmartinez1's Avatar
      helenmartinez1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      Yeah I did that originally but it would only connect either locally (if wireless) or with the ethernet cable hence sky changing the computer to WEP

    10. #19
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      As I reiterate time and time again, do not change your network type to WEP as it is insecure and can be hacked quite easily with someone using a laptop in proximity of your network within a short period of time. Sky should not have advised you to change to an insecure wireless type. The problem you are experiencing with being unable to connect your laptop on WPA is that the drivers for your wireless card in your laptop are out of date and do not support WPA, easy solution - simply update the wireless card drivers whilst your connected through ethernet.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Issues with D-Link Router

      Quote Originally Posted by helenmartinez1 View Post
      How did you get the broadband to work wirelessly with D link router?
      Anyway spoke to Sky and they changed me from WPA to WEP??? And from auto channel select to channel 11.
      What OS are you using? If it is XP make sure you have the latest Service Pack and as suggested update the adapter drivers..

      I believe the DLink is capable of WPA2 encryption, you should use this if at all possible. It is much stronger than WPA.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION