Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 46

    Odd router logs

    This is a discussion on Odd router logs within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In XP go to the Control Panel and open the Scheduled Tasks folder. Vista/Win 7 Start>Administrative tools>Task Scheduler....

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      In XP go to the Control Panel and open the Scheduled Tasks folder.
      Vista/Win 7 Start>Administrative tools>Task Scheduler.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Digger's Avatar
      Digger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Thanks, what would the entry be under? what should I look out for?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Any entry at all really. As you have not scheduled any tasks, anything that is there should not be.

      It may be advisable for you to download and use Trojan Hunter. The free version will not remove anything but it will tell you if anything is there. It is probably the best tool of this kind available.

      You mentioned you used AVG, I am afraid I lost faith in that some time ago. I have recently cleaned out machines for friends one running the free version and the other the paid one. Both had let in trojans.

      Can you confirm if it is still happening?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Digger's Avatar
      Digger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Have you got a link for that prog?

      It is still happening and Spybot found something in my hosts, I am currently posting on a clean up site just incase I might have something (although as I use a hosts manager it might be a FP)

      AVG is ok, for me its the "devil you know" :P
      I use Sandboxie, Noscript and ABP so if something managed to get through I will be annoyed.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Have you got a link for that prog?
      Sorry, I meant to paste it in. TrojanHunter anti trojan scanner - Remove trojan horses, spyware, adware and more

      Your mention of the Host file brought something else to mind. If you are not already using one, you should download a safe version. Have a look at this article which also gives download links for the file.
      Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts File

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Digger's Avatar
      Digger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Thanks for the link, I use Hostman which for the last 6-8 months or so has been fine (it includes MVPS hosts in its updates.) but I think there might be a conflict between that and Spybot (I stopped scanning with SB just incase at the time I installed HM) so I am hoping its a FP with that.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Another thing you can try is running Netstat /b this will show you what is trying to connect from your PC. Open a Command Prompt and type netstat /b hit enter. This will show what exes are using your connection. You might pick something up from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Digger's Avatar
      Digger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Thanks.
      I have had a look and all the .exes are FireFox after the initial connection, in the foreign address column there were three http that are mentioned, surfcanyon which the connection is established, boroth which the connection is time_wait and jupiter which is also established. (wish I could just cut and paste the cmd!) googling these turns up only one thing that the surfcanyon can be a FF addon but I have checked and I do not have it.
      Also it doesn't give the times at which it connects.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      Surfcanyon is a search helper and is quite legit. It filters results to return the most relevant results. I don't know why you would have it if you have not installed it. I use it.

      Boroth, I think is a Twitter addon, don't tweet so don't have it.

      Jupiter is one of the main server networks, based in London I think.

      If you want to copy and paste from a Command Prompt, right click the top bar of the pane and select Edit then 'Select all'. Hit Enter and it is transferred to the clip board, paste it where you want.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Digger's Avatar
      Digger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd router logs

      That's odd as I don't use twitter and have no addon

      This is the netstat /b log

      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
      Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

      C:\Windows\system32>netstat /b

      Active Connections

      Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
      TCP 127.0.0.1:49160 myname-pc:49161 ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 127.0.0.1:49161 myname-pc:49160 ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 127.0.0.1:49162 myname-pc:49163 ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 127.0.0.1:49163 myname-pc:49162 ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51587 02:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51695 02:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51699 lhr14s02-in-f104:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51700 lhr14s02-in-f104:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51703 surfcanyon:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51736 jupiter:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51741 jupiter:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51742 jupiter:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51744 jupiter:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51745 jupiter:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51746 jupiter:http ESTABLISHED
      [firefox.exe]
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51751 www:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51752 www:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51753 www:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51754 www:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51755 www:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51756 www:http TIME_WAIT
      TCP 192.168.0.2:51758 www:http TIME_WAIT

      C:\Windows\system32>

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION