Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 47

    Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

    This is a discussion on Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That post makes no sense other than linking to another thread. Regarding the 800kbps upstream I've already said no one ...

    1. #21
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      That post makes no sense other than linking to another thread. Regarding the 800kbps upstream I've already said no one else on Sky has that and that is FACT - you said yourself they put you on it because you were gonna leave. Why else do you think people are surprised to see it?!?! I didn't even get it when I was staff!!

      Anyway, I've had enough as you can't win with you...to the OP, yes I'd agree with you. It does seem Sky are slowly sorting things out as I've noticed an improvement lately on the Connect service
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      IWNTE I think if you read my posts this one for instance I said I was Not going to leave. I have never ever said I would leave or going to leave.
      In the last two weeks there are still SkyUser members on the connect package that are awaiting for their Mac Code or left. If that means connect is getting more stable you tell me. I also have said look at a page 165 post #1642 on Sky Connect Broadband - Are you being slowed down? About Sky buying more Bandwidth
      Hi Smithy because of the connect and Bt issues that have been happening and the information that was and is still gathering. Plus declining the offer to leave. As a good will gesture my upstream was put up to 832k. Will that do.

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      I've never said it's getting better for everyone - just that I've noticed it's getting better when I've used it. You show me where I've said it's better for everyone...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      Who's upset you two???

      Play nice, it does no harm to do speedtests, even if they are useless and don't help change a damn thing

    6. #25
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      There was a rumour that more backhaul had been brought online in Scotland type areas, true or not, no idea.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #26
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      It'd be nice if they fixed their network so it didn't give you the kind of latency you'd expect from an interleaved connection on fast path. Perhaps that'll be next.

    8. #27
      Reapercore's Avatar
      Reapercore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlewick Green
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      It's been confirmed that Sky have purchased 30% more bandwidth for it's BT interconnects. This was a week ago, however a week later they've gone back to blanket throttling everything on Connect :|

      Can't login to Steam, kicked off MSN/IRC whilst web browsing, although it's timing out most of the time... Connect still isn't fit for purpose.
      Last edited by Reapercore; 07-09-10 at 09:45 PM.

    9. #28
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Reapercore View Post
      It's been confirmed that Sky have purchased 30% more bandwidth for it's BT interconnects. This was a week ago, however a week later they've gone back to blanket throttling everything on Connect :|

      Can't login to Steam, kicked off MSN/IRC whilst web browsing, although it's timing out most of the time... Connect still isn't fit for purpose.
      Seems all the throttling has been put back on indeed. Packet loss creeping back and latency is terrible. Traces are showing blatent congestion points, although it's hard to diagnose anything since they made the strange decision to have their gateways not respond to ICMP.

      Here.
      Last edited by Btcc22; 07-09-10 at 10:27 PM.

    10. #29
      Reapercore's Avatar
      Reapercore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlewick Green
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Btcc22 View Post
      Seems all the throttling has been put back on indeed. Packet loss creeping back and latency is terrible. Traces are showing blatent congestion points, although it's hard to diagnose anything since they made the strange decision to have their gateways not respond to ICMP.

      Here.
      I've been running Wireshark, which is showing an incredible amount of TCP Retrans, also tracerts just show my packets getting stuck into router loops.

      Their peak times seem to change randomly aswell... 23:10 and I still cant use YouTube.

    11. #30
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - more bandwidth deployed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Reapercore View Post
      I've been running Wireshark, which is showing an incredible amount of TCP Retrans, also tracerts just show my packets getting stuck into router loops.

      Their peak times seem to change randomly aswell... 23:10 and I still cant use YouTube.
      You mean like this (taken in the day)?


      The connection has been having constant trouble connecting to sites recently. Pretty much every site I have issues with behaves like that on traces, regardless of which machine it's done from.

      TCP retransmissions make sense when UDP is treated like this, keeping in mind send is at 0% given that nothing was being sent:

      50-60% loss to the States isn't abnormal for this network.

      This is what I'd expect from a network that actually worked properly (taken ages ago):
      Tracing route to multiplay.co.uk [85.236.96.22] over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.0.0.2
      2 17 ms 16 ms 16 ms dr11.bllon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.128.196]
      3 17 ms 17 ms 18 ms 5acf0016.bb.sky.com [90.207.238.22]
      4 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms be2.er10.txlon.ov.easynet.net [195.66.226.43]
      5 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 195.66.226.224
      6 17 ms 18 ms 17 ms po0-1-650-cr1.ixnlon.as35028.net [85.236.110.6]

      7 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms www1.multiplay.co.uk [85.236.96.22]

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION