Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    new house ...new speed

    This is a discussion on new house ...new speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; just moved into my new bungalow and before i was getting about 2000kbps downstream. now I'm getting ADSL Link Downstream ...

    1. #1
      bru's Avatar
      bru
      bru is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new house ...new speed

      just moved into my new bungalow and before i was getting about 2000kbps downstream.

      now I'm getting

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.5 db 21.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 13.0 db


      now don't get me wrong I'm loving the new speed, but a friend 5 doors up the road says he is getting 12500kbps downstream, so do the stats look about right or should i be getting on to sky to sort it out.
      NVIDIA's CEO Jen-Hsun Huang "How much faster can you render the blue screen of death?"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: new house ...new speed

      bru
      Hi here is a link to some information Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained if those stats are not from the test socket at the back of your master socket What you could do is How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket also how long have you been with Sky broadband as there is DLM (Dynamic Line Management) will run on your line for about 10 days. The Attenuation shown are for a perfect line which is impossible to achieve so use them as an average
      Last edited by steve16751; 03-09-10 at 03:38 AM.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new house ...new speed

      Do you have a Master socket? Is it an NTE5? Many new builds have an XNTE which means the Test socket is outside your house in a little grey box. If you have this type it is going to be difficult to get the best out of it. With your attenuation you could get 10-11Mb, but it is going to depend on your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      367
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: new house ...new speed

      Quote Originally Posted by bru View Post
      just moved into my new bungalow and before i was getting about 2000kbps downstream.

      now I'm getting

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.5 db 21.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 13.0 db


      now don't get me wrong I'm loving the new speed, but a friend 5 doors up the road says he is getting 12500kbps downstream, so do the stats look about right or should i be getting on to sky to sort it out.
      You'll be surprised how much the line lengths can vary even within a street. Where my parents live their line is 500m long yet the line to the house opposite is 1500m long.

      These are my stats but I use a router with custom firmware and I don't have Sky BB.

      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 5.7
      Attn(dB): 35.5 21.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.5 12.7
      Rate (Kbps): 11049 1011

    6. #5
      bru's Avatar
      bru
      bru is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new house ...new speed

      my god what a week its been......anyway to get back to this matter, Ive just retaken the screenies of the router stats as i have noticed it varies quite a bit depending on the time of day.
      these were taken at about 10 am today.

      before touching anything.


      direct into the test socket



      back with the normal setup after testing


      now yes i know there is a quite a difference between the test socket and normal wiring, but i was surprised just how much it changed after i had finished and plugged it all back in normally. there is also quite a difference between this time of day and when i posted the stats up before at 2 am in the morning

      i did reboot the router for each test except the first one.

      edit.......i know people are going to say sort out the wiring for the extensions but its not quite that easy, the two runs for the sky boxes are one thing but the problem is probably the tunstal lifeline box for hands free calling assistance for my disabled wife in case of a fall.
      NVIDIA's CEO Jen-Hsun Huang "How much faster can you render the blue screen of death?"

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new house ...new speed

      now yes i know there is a quite a difference between the test socket and normal wiring, but i was surprised just how much it changed after i had finished and plugged it all back in normally.
      As your uptime is zero, you will probably find it will drop down to nearer the original figure pretty quickly. Internal wiring picks up interference at different times so you will see some fluctuation in the noise margin.

      I think fitting and using a filtered faceplate would raise your speed to about 11Mb, maybe more. This should not effect any special equipment you have connected to the phone line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION