Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Maximum tested line speed

    This is a discussion on Maximum tested line speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I've had a series of problems with my Sky broadband. In Jan/Feb, I was connecting on Sky Mid at ...

    1. #1
      GSBMBA's Avatar
      GSBMBA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Maximum tested line speed

      Hello,

      I've had a series of problems with my Sky broadband. In Jan/Feb, I was connecting on Sky Mid at 2.2Mb/s. I got bumped up to Sky Max after tripping the usage limit in February. In Feb/March I had dire performance and constant dropouts for a six week period during which I spent hours on the phone with countless Sky call service staff. About 10 days after I registered a formal complaint I got a call from an engineer who was able to fix the connection in about 15 seconds.

      From mid-March until last Tuesday I had a remarkably stable connection at 8.8Mbs and 31db line attenuation. However, on Tuesday I started to encounter the same constant dropouts I had previously experienced. On Thursday the problem got worse and it took over 18 hours for the router to establish a connection and at a speed of 1.7Mb/s and 40 db line attenuation. I plugged in a phone (I only use the line for broadband) and discovered severe crackling such that it was impossible to conduct a phone conversation (crackling was present but fainter in Feb/March). In the meantime, Sky sends me a new Dlink router.

      Today the BT engineer fixed the phone line (corrosion at street level) and there's no noise on the line at all. I call Sky to tell them the good news that I now have a clean as a whistle phone line and they can crank up the download speeds back to where they were last Tuesday (8.8Mb/s) or, hopefully, higher since the line is now noisefree.

      Unfortunately, Sky tell me my line is now only capable of achieving 5.4Mb/s.

      The below are the router stats. I don't have an NTE-2005 master socket.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection speed 5472 kbps 480 kpbs
      Line attenuation 25.5 db 17.5 db
      Noise margin 7.0 db 19.0 db

      I am confused as to why my maximum line speed has dropped 30% below where it was last Tuesday despite
      --> a now noise free line
      --> line attenuation reduced from 31db to 25.5db (I was under the impression this was a major factor in line speed)
      --> the BT speed test online says my phone number should be getting 14Mb/s and Sky engineers have told me previously I should be getting well into the teens based on my location

      Sky tell me there's nothing they can do. Any advice?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      I'm afraid there is nothing that can be done with those stats and that is the max you can get. If you dont have an NTE5 BT Master Linebox then I would advise taking the faceplate off your current master socket, disconnecting the internal wiring from the back of it leaving only the incoming line connected and then try the router from the socket and post up stats.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      Do you have another router you can connect to the line? It will not matter if it is Sky enabled as long as it shows the stats. It is possible your router is faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      GSBMBA's Avatar
      GSBMBA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      I've taken the face plate off and there are two white plastic encased wires that seem to connect directly to the socket faceplate. It doesn't look like there's anything to disconnect.

      I understand that you say the stats are unusable. Is there a legitimate explanation why the maximum line speed would drop by 30%?

      Given my previous experience with Sky, I suspect that I've just talked to the wrong person.

      **EDIT** - meant as reply to Simonmpoulton

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      Do you have any fixed telephone extensions?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      GSBMBA's Avatar
      GSBMBA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you have another router you can connect to the line?
      Perhaps I misinterpreted Simonmpoulton's response. I had assumed the stats weren't relevant as they didn't come via the NTE-2005 master test socket. The router is connected and functioning and I can see all the stats. I didn't know how to copy and paste the stats so I put the ones I thought were relevant into tabular format. In case I previously posted the wrong stats, I've posted all the router stats


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1177 1390 0 176 323 00:30:55
      LAN 3045 217 0 40 1 03:34:17
      WLAN 222558 162152 0 117934 11519 00:30:46
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5db 17.5db
      Noise Margin 6.5db 19.0db

      As to fixed telephone extensions, I have a fixed line plugged in through a microfilter in a separate socket. The broadband socket has the connection to the router and the phone line to the Sky box (both after the filter).

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      There's something very bad is that's all you're getting - you should be about 3 times that speed...sounds like the internal wiring is now holding things back
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      Unplug everything, plug only the router into your test socket via a new filter and take a new set of stats. Also make sure the other line drops when you expose the test socket.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Maximum tested line speed

      Can you confirm that your Master socket is like the first one on this page and that your extension is similar to the second one? The third shows the external appearance of an NTE5a socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION