Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

    This is a discussion on moving from Sky connect to normal broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; im moving my sky connect broadband to sky's unlimited broadband service. they have advised me that this will be provisioned ...

    1. #1
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      im moving my sky connect broadband to sky's unlimited broadband service. they have advised me that this will be provisioned on the 8/9/10.
      is there any downtime between the transfer?

      these are teh numbers from my router on connect, what can i expect on the unlimited service?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4992 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 19.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      Shouldn't be any downtime, can you explain your setup as that noise margin is not very good for the attenuation you are showing?

    4. #3
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      vygec
      Hi Great news do you mind if I ask the exchange that is being or been unbundled.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      these are teh numbers from my router on connect, what can i expect on the unlimited service?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4992 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 19.0 db
      Not much more than you have, if you even get that. With your attenuation you should have 8128 and a high noise margin. Something is seriously wrong with your wiring. Post your stats from the Test socket, behind the Master faceplate, Use only the filter and cable supplied by Sky. http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      If everything can be sorted out you should get 16-18Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      the router has always been plugged straight into the master socket. im using the microfilter that came from sky and using no extension leads to connect to the master socket. i just connected to the test socket as suggested and got these results. what does this mean?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4896 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.2 db 21.0 db

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      It means something's not right as you should already be in sync @ 8Mbps as it is...either something your end is wrong or there's noise on the line somewhere. I assume this is in test socket with no extensions and just router plugged in via a filter?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      It looks like you have a fault on your line or a faulty router. How is your phone? Any noise on it? Plug into your Test socket with a corded phone, dial 17070 option 2 and listen. You should hear at most a very faint hiss, anything more indicates a fault.

      If you have extensions, make sure they are 'dead' whe the faceplate is removed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      router is plugged directly into test switch with no extensions via filter.
      phone works fine, i tried this test, rung 17070 option 2, and could hardly hear anything.

      the only extension i have is from the main phone socket, i have the micro filter plugged in, to which i have the router plugged in and from the microfilter i also have an extension to the back room where the phone plugs in. however when i did the test earlier, whether i disconnect the phone or have it connected has no bearing on the results from the router...suggesting to me that the phone extension is fine.

      how do i know if my line has a fault now?
      do i report this to sky or BT? does it need reporting?

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      If your line rental is with BT the call them BUT as it's a broadband issue you'd need to get Sky to raise it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      Try another router before getting an engineer, the charge could be quite large if it turns out to be the router by the engineer.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION