Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 39

    moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

    This is a discussion on moving from Sky connect to normal broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; when i asked the guy a question about download limits, he suggested i shouldn't download a more than a 1gb ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      when i asked the guy a question about download limits, he suggested i shouldn't download a more than a 1gb a day otherwise the connection would probably get capped!
      I think that shows you were talking to an air-head.
      That may apply on Connect, but not on Unlimited. Sky make a big thing about supplying the only truly Unlimited allowance with no FUP. If he doesn't know that, he should be sent back for retraining.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      i'll let this run to see how it goes for now. current stats as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10728 kbps 807 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 15.6 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 8.5 db

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      I would say you are loosing about 50% of your speed somewhere. With that attenuation you should have 15-16 Mb. The fact that your attenuation went up a full 4dbs suggests there may be a problem with your external line, which is causing excessive noise..

      Plug into the Test socket and take your stats again. If the noise margin does not rise, plug a corded phone on its own directly into the test socket. Dial 17070 option 2 and listen. Any noise?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      i plugged into the test socket and got the following results:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10421 kbps 792 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 15.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 9.0 db

      i then did the phone test as requested, just a very faint hiss on the phone line. when i was last speaking with the sky engineer, i was subtly suggesting that i should be expecting 15mb
      but he mentioned that i would need to be closer to the exchange, he was puzzled by the fact why there was some wires behind the faceplate, but i did mention to him that they were disconnected. before we moved in to this house the previous owner had virgin, we had the BT line installed. anyway, Ive attached a picture of the socket if it helps.
      now im intrigued how i can get the extra 5mb
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails moving from Sky connect to normal broadband-dsc00494.jpg  

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      What's that splitter in the test socket? That shouldn't be going into the socket before the filter you know?? It should be socket>filter>(router side) router/(phone side) splitter to Sky+ box/phone/etc
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      thats how the phone is plugged in, but its always plugged in via the filter. as i was testing the phone via the test socket i had this plugged in direct only for test purposes.

    8. #27
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      So that thing saying 'Sky TV, do not remove' is normally plugged into a filter?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #28
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      yes, that is correct

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      If you are plugging anyting in before the filter, Get it out. Right away, that is causing most of your problems. Take it out and plug in the ADSL filter then the router and post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      this is the point i made in my previous post.
      the filter goes straight in to the main socket, the extension for the phone plugs in to the micro filter (as does the router).

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION