Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 39

    moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

    This is a discussion on moving from Sky connect to normal broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; my line rental is with BT . unfortunately i do not have an extra router to try this with....

    1. #11
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      my line rental is with BT. unfortunately i do not have an extra router to try this with.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      In which case try and get sky to send you a new router - you should always have a spare anyway!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      If you don't have another router and can't borrow one, leave it till your are swapped over to LLU. It will not be long now. There is a good chance the fault is at the exchange which means it will be fixed when you are moved to Sky's equipment. If you get the same result then you can take it further.

      You realise you could have had almost double your speed if you had had this fixed before.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      vygec
      Hi The reason I am asking about your exchange is any other connect Customer on your exchange and does not know it has been Unbundled it would be useful information for them

    6. #15
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      UPDATE:
      we moved over to Sky unlimited today. However, the speed was still sitting at 5mb.
      so i phoned up sky, went through a few departments in the broadband team, they suggested that my speed should be higher. eventually my speed was pushed to 11.5mb, now connected and very happy
      thanks for your help guys, i would have been still sitting at 4mb if it weren't for you lot.
      the only concern i had was when i asked the guy a question about download limits, he suggested i shouldn't download a more than a 1gb a day otherwise the connection would probably get capped!
      i hope this was just a scare tactic, as 1gb a day is nothing!

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      You are aware that you start on DLM @ 4Mbps and you're meant to leave it to do it's thing? Or do you not read other threads on this forum?

      And 1GB/day is a LOT - not that it matters on unlimited, mind
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      sorry, but what is DLM? i mentioned the 10 day test to the guy on the phone, and he suggested there was no need to do tests on the line as ive moved over form connect

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      DLM = Dynamic Line Management (the 10 day period)

      The guy you spoke to is a numpty as EVERYONE has to go through DLM, especially when moving from Connect!! Bad marks for him come call review time!!

      This is where reading the whole forum helps as it stops unneccessary questions, there's a whole forum section on DLM and what it is!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      vygec's Avatar
      vygec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      appreciate your help mate, but im not so sure.
      whilst on the phone, we did a number of tests i.e. he got me to upload and download on my end and monitored the speeds from his end whilst i was up/downloading/streaming video from iplayer. also we unplugged everything from the master socket, removed the faceplate, plugged in via the test socket, then tried with the phone on, and then in the end connected through the master socket to check for any differences.
      when they changed the speeds, i was put on hold while he conversed with other departments as well.
      unless, ive got this all wrong, in which case should i phone back to get my speeds put back to 4mb for this DLM?

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: moving from Sky connect to normal broadband

      Well, it's done now...basically it seems the guy/girl didn't wanna let it go through DLM (some just ignore process and reconfigure things) and has configured it. Just bare in mind things might go a bit pear-shaped as the point of DLM is to work out a stable rate automatically...enjoy it!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION