Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Xbox Live

    This is a discussion on Xbox Live within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone confirm if Sky BB is compatible with Xbox Live? I'd imagine it would be as it would be ...

    1. #1
      The_Ree's Avatar
      The_Ree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Xbox Live

      Can anyone confirm if Sky BB is compatible with Xbox Live? I'd imagine it would be as it would be darn foolish if it wasn't.

      I have my MAC code and am on the verge of signing up.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Hello The_Ree and welcome
      the xbox live question is one that is being asked alot i have sent them an Email today asking this and other questions that people would like answered so hopefully we should get an answer today,
      i should imagine that blocking xbox live would be like blocking firefox it wouldn't be in the isp's best interest to do so but i would still wait for confirmation though.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #3
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by The_Ree View Post
      Can anyone confirm if Sky BB is compatible with Xbox Live? I'd imagine it would be as it would be darn foolish if it wasn't.

      I have my MAC code and am on the verge of signing up.
      just got this from customer services...
      I can confirm that we will not be blocking any ports, Xbox live and other games systems will be able to use the connection
      which is good news as there are rumours on less informed forums that ports will be blocked.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    5. #4
      alyt's Avatar
      alyt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      thats good to hear. the thing is tho do u have to use sky's netgear router? or can you keep your old one as theres no garuntee the xbox will be compatible with the sky router.

    6. #5
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by alyt View Post
      thats good to hear. the thing is tho do u have to use sky's netgear router? or can you keep your old one as theres no garuntee the xbox will be compatible with the sky router.
      sky are saying you have to use there router, its a pretty modern router so xbox live should be fine with it.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      the netgear router is spot on and very easy to set up re rules etc. Personnally i cannot see any problems at all




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION