Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    0.8mb download speed

    This is a discussion on 0.8mb download speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm paying for 20mb internet, websites say my area can get a maximum of 2mb internet. Just done 3 speed ...

    1. #1
      Mattyscfc's Avatar
      Mattyscfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      0.8mb download speed

      I'm paying for 20mb internet, websites say my area can get a maximum of 2mb internet.

      Just done 3 speed tests (including the one on this website) and my download speed is 880kb/s or 0.88mb/s

      what the hell is going on? The only way to contact sky is to call and to be quite honest I have no idea what i'm asking for.



      EDIT: Oh wow, speeding up now; considering it's 1:05 am

      Last edited by Mattyscfc; 27-08-10 at 02:58 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      I'm paying for 20mb internet,
      Sorry to be pedantic, but you are paying for upto 20meg not 20meg, the chances of you getting 20meg unless you are outside of your exchange is actually quite low.

      Could you post your stats so as we can see if it an issue at your end etc?

      How to get your router statistics




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Mattyscfc's Avatar
      Mattyscfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      Sorry, internet stuff goes straight over my head I don't understand any of it all I know is that it's painfully slow it's ridiculous.

      I'd be happy if I was getting 2mb/s like these websites say I can get in my area.

      Ok, heres what I got from the router thing:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5 db 37.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 15.2 db


      Hope thats the info you wanted

    5. #4
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      From those stats i would say your on ADSL2+, I believe you would get better stats from G.DMT. (these are both line modes)

      Its also possible your line is capped at 1024, however with a NM of 7.6 you wouldn't get much more without been on g.dmt.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      You may also want to check where your router is plugged in and tell us a few details like:
      How many sockets are there on your line,
      How many are in use,
      How many filters you are using,
      Do you have a master/ test socket How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket
      Have you got the router plugged into your master socket
      Do you have Sky tv and is it connected to your line still

    7. #6
      Mattyscfc's Avatar
      Mattyscfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      You may also want to check where your router is plugged in and tell us a few details like:
      How many sockets are there on your line,
      How many are in use,
      How many filters you are using,
      Do you have a master/ test socket How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket
      Have you got the router plugged into your master socket
      Do you have Sky tv and is it connected to your line still
      I'll do that stuff now and post it up when i've done everything above.

      Thanks chaps, really appreciate the willingness to help

      -----------------------------------------------------------------------------



      You may also want to check where your router is plugged in and tell us a few details like:
      How many sockets are there on your line - 4 sockets
      How many are in use - 3 are in use
      How many filters you are using 3; on the ones which are in use
      Do you have a master/ test socket How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket: Yes
      Have you got the router plugged into your master socket: Not currently, although I could test it at the master
      Do you have Sky tv and is it connected to your line still: Yes


      Should I be testing the router from the master socket next?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      What you really need to do is to test from the TEST socket, this requires you to remove the lower portion of the master socket and plug in with a filter in the socket underneath it.

      This will bypass all your internal wiring and sockets and give you the cleanest and best connection available to you, it will also highlight any problems you may have with the rest of the wiring.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    9. #8
      Mattyscfc's Avatar
      Mattyscfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      What you really need to do is to test from the TEST socket, this requires you to remove the lower portion of the master socket and plug in with a filter in the socket underneath it.

      This will bypass all your internal wiring and sockets and give you the cleanest and best connection available to you, it will also highlight any problems you may have with the rest of the wiring.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket
      Ok I have unscrewed the master socket cover and i've directly plugged in the filter to it. Just done another speed test with the router plugged in here at the master and it's much the same on the speed front:



      Router stats now look like this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1018 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0 db 36.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 15.1 db

    10. #9
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      Like i said, you need to ring up and get put to CST, you'll then need them to move you to G.DMT (line mode) and then get them to configure your line properly. You should get at least another meg.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: 0.8mb download speed

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Like i said, you need to ring up and get put to CST, you'll then need them to move you to G.DMT (line mode) and then get them to configure your line properly. You should get at least another meg.
      Assuming the SNR increases...if not, then he won't get anything else
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION