Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

    This is a discussion on Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am about to move in with my partner - she has a sky talk and broadband package, and I ...

    1. #1
      thisisgil's Avatar
      thisisgil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      I am about to move in with my partner - she has a sky talk and broadband package, and I have a BT broadband package - we're both locked into contracts, so ideally I'd like to try and avoid cancelling my BT package as it'll cost !

      Is it possible to have a second line set up that uses BT so that I can wait out my BT broadband package despite the fact that the main line is unbundled with Sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      I would ring BT and explain the situation and see if they can do anything that doesn't cost you an arm and a leg.

    4. #3
      thisisgil's Avatar
      thisisgil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      Tried that originally - they want me to pay over 300 if I don't return my vision box, and 170 if I do!


    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      Providing there are sufficient connections in the cabinet you should be able to get BT to fit a second line for you.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      ...but BT will charge you 125 to connect the new line and want a 12 month contract. Is it worth it?

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      Better than the 300 he was quoted though! They might do a cheaper deal you never know.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Talk+Broadband with a BT second line - is it possible?

      Unless you can get the new line installed very cheaply, returning the BT box and paying 170 would be your cheapest option. New line plus rental would cost 270 to 340 depending on the contract length. Why not tell BT you would like to return the box as you are emigrating

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION