Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 210

    My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

    This is a discussion on My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 378 kbps 796 kbps Line Attenuation 61 db 38 db Noise Margin 14 db ...

    1. #1
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61 db 38 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 10 db

      They are my stats from my test socket with an ASDL/Modem splitter in it.
      Download speeds are getting slightly faster (too 41kbps max)



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Your line can get more speed, how long have you been on Sky, what else is connected to the telephone line, any extension sockets on the line and how many filters in use?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Any reason why you don't just continue your other thread?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Any reason why you don't just continue your other thread?
      I'm afraid I won't get enough replies

    6. #5
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Your line can get more speed, how long have you been on Sky, what else is connected to the telephone line, any extension sockets on the line and how many filters in use?
      Loads of extensions and loads of filters
      Do I need exact number because I will draw a diagram

    7. #6
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      My Provider is Sky and I have 3 phones using Sky and 2 TV connected to Sky (1 Sky+ and 1 Sky)

    8. #7
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      My stats from where my router usually is (loads of extensions).

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 332 kbps 614 kbps
      Line Attenuation 68 db 39 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db


    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      You need the router on your first socket and unless you have a proper filter plate you will need filters on all other sockets on the line that have anything attached to them. For testing remove everything from the line except the filter and router on your main socket and then post a new set of stats. We can have a look and tell you if something is impacting the line.

    10. #9
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Ok, I will try now.
      Be right back

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      If the attenuation or line noise margin changes then you need to sort out your wiring.

     

     
    Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION