Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
    Results 81 to 90 of 210

    My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

    This is a discussion on My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by lindley010 Sky will never uncap your line, they will just increase the cap. Have you got a ...

    1. #81
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Sky will never uncap your line, they will just increase the cap.

      Have you got a faceplate master socket now? If so you just unscrew it, and the test socket is behind, with the new faceplate you just replace the older one, two screws, fairly easy to take off. Requires no knowledge of anything except how to use a screwdriver.
      My master socket has got loads of wires in

      Also, What should I ask them to increase the cap to maximum?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      They will do a line test and set it to the right speed them selves.

      eh? Does the master socket have a faceplate or not

      http://images.maplin.co.uk/full/A85JT.jpg

      something like that, where the bottom half unscrews.

    4. #83
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      They will do a line test and set it to the right speed them selves.

      eh? Does the master socket have a faceplate or not

      http://images.maplin.co.uk/full/A85JT.jpg

      something like that, where the bottom half unscrews.
      Exactly like that just it is not pinkish and it says OpenZone on the top bit.

      Also, Is the splitter that I posted on Page 8 able to use?

    5. #84
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Yeah, so you need to unscrew that, behind that, there will be another plug which the faceplate plugs into, this is your test socket, you need to use this when you ring sky, otherwise you will waste your time because they will only tell you to do this, if you ring from the landline it will get disconnected when you unplug it, so better to do it before.

      Yes that filtered faceplate should work

    6. #85
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Thanks Lindley010

      I will ask my mum to order it and I will phone up Sky when I recieve it and it's all plugged in

    7. #86
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      What about that one?
      It's cheaper and less
      Better for me

      Edit: How will I install it or will it just be an easy push in?
      You get what you pay for, this is about half the price of a good quality one, so I would expect it to be half as good.

      Fitting a faceplate involves removing the existing one, note what wires are connected to which terminal on it and fit them to the same terminal number on the new plate. You can get a cheap disposable tool to fit the wires properly. Don't use a screwdriver.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #87
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You get what you pay for, this is about half the price of a good quality one, so I would expect it to be half as good.

      Fitting a faceplate involves removing the existing one, note what wires are connected to which terminal on it and fit them to the same terminal number on the new plate. You can get a cheap disposable tool to fit the wires properly. Don't use a screwdriver.
      You've slightly confused my now.
      It will only be half as good?
      Cheap disposable tool?
      Will I need to Wire it myself?

    9. #88
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    10. #89
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      So does it just plug straight in with no need to link to any wires?

      There's a test socket which I plug the FacePlay filter into but does the ASDL need to be linked to the wires?

    11. #90
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Yeah hes confused me too, As far as im aware, you remove the old faceplate and put the new one on. As you aren't changing the whole socket, just the faceplate.

     

     
    Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION