Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 21 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 210

    My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

    This is a discussion on My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by MGSteve I don't think anyone was suggesting 5Mb.... The main thing is to find out the distance ...

    1. #51
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by MGSteve View Post
      I don't think anyone was suggesting 5Mb....

      The main thing is to find out the distance to the exchange. If line of sight is 3km, god knows how far the cable run is.
      The cable length could just be over that, it depends on where he lives and if hes got a nice straight road from where he lives to the middle of town


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      I will start a new thread after tested with every info I think I can provide
      Will start typing now. Thanks for the help people and hope you look at my new post when it's posted after all tests.

      You've all been pretty big helps but unfortunately I see there's no easy solution to fixing the problem.

    4. #53
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Don't start another thread, theres no need, just edit your original post with any info you need.

      And make sure you do everything that was asked.

    5. #54
      MGSteve's Avatar
      MGSteve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Lol! the internet has changed a lot in the last 8 years!

      under 2km you should get high speeds, anything under 5km you should get at least 1 meg. He definitely should be getting more.

      If hes on sky Base like his profile says, he should be getting the full 2 meg

      As far as im aware, hes using an extension, which isn't helping. He should be getting the full 2 meg though.
      Well, it is "upto 2mb", it depends on the line. Shame about the neighbours, that would have been a clear indication.

      The only other way is to get a BT enginner to come out, but of course if they can't find a fault then its chargeable. There may well be a fault on the line leading to interference in the bit used by BB, but you'd never know without something to compare it against.

      Problems like this are a nightmare and unless you can talk Sky into getting an engineer out to investigate whether there is a problem or not (at no cost to you), it could well be that you'll never be able to solve it.

      If you're getting those sort of speeds when directly connected to the master socket then its either the most you can get or there is a fault in the line somewhere. But as above, proving it and getting it fixed is tricky.

      At least if you know what speeds others are getting in your road, then you have something to go from, otherwise you're fumbling around in the dark, so to speak.

      Only other test I can think of is to plug the phone into the master socket, get the dialing tone and then press '1'. Listen to the line, any hissing, crackling or any sort of noise could indicate a problem in the line. It should be pretty much perfectly quiet. If you have cordless phones, try and get a corded phone to rule out any hiss from the cordless phone.

    6. #55
      MGSteve's Avatar
      MGSteve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      The cable length could just be over that, it depends on where he lives and if hes got a nice straight road from where he lives to the middle of town
      Could be - or he could be in the middle of estate where the cable winds around for a km before it gets out to the main road! Shame no-ones come up with an overlay for Google Earth with the cable runs on it - it would be invaluable!

      Quote Originally Posted by DownloadSpeedof30kbps View Post
      I will start a new thread after tested with every info I think I can provide
      As Lindley says, no need to start a new thread, just update this one, its better to keep all the info in one place.

    7. #56
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Steve, its upto 2 meg IF your line can handle it, like i said, he should be getting the full 2 meg

      He's not going to fix this without ringing up.

      Actually, it could be DLM

      When DLM was on my line i didn't know it was (because they decided to put it on after a long time of having a nice stable connection LOL?)

      So the router got reset numerous times and my line was set to a pathetic speed of like 0.3-0.4 meg, i rang up, they changed it manually to the speed it was before. sorted. However if i wouldn't of rang up, the line would of stayed at that speed.

      Im not saying it will be this, but its possible. the OP has to ring up sky before this thread is going anywhere else, without doing the basic troubleshooting with them.

    8. #57
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Will post everything even if it's been mentioned before in this post. Making a diagram now

      By the way, I was on Upto 2/5mb and then moved to Upto 10mb then now I'm on upto 20mb so there is no limit to the speed I can get (guessing it's under 20mb)

      Prepare for a lot of stats in a couple of hours.

    9. #58
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Ring up sky first and go through the basic troubleshooting with them. if your dad isn't home, pretend to be him, if he his then get him to do the security questions etc, ask them what speed your line is capped at, if its capped at 378 or w/e then ask them to increase it.

    10. #59
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Also, Basically.

      I want step by step instructions what to do because people are telling me to phone 2/3 different people.
      Please just post your step by step view so far

    11. #60
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Ring up sky first and go through the basic troubleshooting with them. if your dad isn't home, pretend to be him, if he his then get him to do the security questions etc, ask them what speed your line is capped at, if its capped at 378 or w/e then ask them to increase it.
      Will do
      Will it cost anything and what's the number?

     

     
    Page 6 of 21 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION