Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 21 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 210

    My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

    This is a discussion on My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by MGSteve Means that you could be a very long way from the exchange! The only way to ...

    1. #41
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by MGSteve View Post
      Means that you could be a very long way from the exchange!

      The only way to find out for sure is to get onto Sky and see if they can find out. You used to be able to do it from the handset, but BT removed the feature as people and not engineers were using it.

      tbh, if Cable is available in your area, it may well be the better option and it does sound like you're on the borderline for ADSL. You need to see what your neighbours get really.
      So how do I get onto Sky then?
      To be honest, I'm happy with everything to do with my Broadband except the download speed and it occasionally goes off and does not come back on enless manual reset.

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      well i live 4.5km's away and can get 2.5meg, so you should easily get more speed than you currently have, something is stopping you.

      And steve, trust me if you lived 5 miles away from the exchange you would get the speed's of the OP, not 5-6meg.
      If I get 1mb, I'm alright.
      I just need to know if these are free lines because I have a details booklet with all my Dads details that I can use to get past security.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      If you have Sky's phone line they should be free.

    4. #43
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      If you have Sky's phone line they should be free.
      I will try later when/if no-ones in the house.

      Also, Do any of you have any instant messaging services because I don't like forums?

      Feel free to message me the name/adress/user

    5. #44
      MGSteve's Avatar
      MGSteve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      well i live 4.5km's away and can get 2.5meg, so you should easily get more speed than you currently have, something is stopping you.

      And steve, trust me if you lived 5 miles away from the exchange you would get the speed's of the OP, not 5-6meg.
      Well, I'm only repeating what I was told by the BT engineer. Actually, come to think of it, it can't be 5 miles as I know where the exchange is and even as the crow flies its only 1.39m according to google earth.

      hmm, seems like I got confused over the 5 miles. Whatever it was, it definitely was the limit of 512k connections when it was connected in 2002 as the Engineer who installed the connection said he was surprised at the speed I got as the line was very near the limit, distance wise.

      So, taking that into account, the distance reported by the original poster, it may well be an indicator of a long distance to the exchange.

      Talking to neighbours seems the next logical step to me.

    6. #45
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      The OP will NEVER get speeds around 5Mbps as their line is on a high attenuation. 2Mbps on GDMT is the likely maximum to be hoped for
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #46
      MGSteve's Avatar
      MGSteve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by DownloadSpeedof30kbps View Post
      Also, Do any of you have any instant messaging services because I don't like forums?
      Forums are better though as if others have the same problem, they can read about it afterwards. With IM the messages are gone when the conversation ends.

    8. #47
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Lol! the internet has changed a lot in the last 8 years!

      under 2km you should get high speeds, anything under 5km you should get at least 1 meg. He definitely should be getting more.

      If hes on sky Base like his profile says, he should be getting the full 2 meg

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      The OP will NEVER get speeds around 5Mbps as their line is on a high attenuation. 2Mbps on GDMT is the likely maximum to be hoped for

      As far as im aware, hes using an extension, which isn't helping. He should be getting the full 2 meg though.

    9. #48
      MGSteve's Avatar
      MGSteve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      The OP will NEVER get speeds around 5Mbps as their line is on a high attenuation. 2Mbps on GDMT is the likely maximum to be hoped for
      I don't think anyone was suggesting 5Mb....

      The main thing is to find out the distance to the exchange. If line of sight is 3km, god knows how far the cable run is.

    10. #49
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by MGSteve View Post
      Well, I'm only repeating what I was told by the BT engineer. Actually, come to think of it, it can't be 5 miles as I know where the exchange is and even as the crow flies its only 1.39m according to google earth.

      hmm, seems like I got confused over the 5 miles. Whatever it was, it definitely was the limit of 512k connections when it was connected in 2002 as the Engineer who installed the connection said he was surprised at the speed I got as the line was very near the limit, distance wise.

      So, taking that into account, the distance reported by the original poster, it may well be an indicator of a long distance to the exchange.

      Talking to neighbours seems the next logical step to me.
      I don't think I'll be talking to my neighbours unfortunately (they're not exactly the friendliest.

      I will test for master sockets and everything you have told be but I'd much prefer that I could speak to someone instantly after try the sockets and other stuff.

      Put it this way, I had a Sky man around to set up my router and connect it to a computer in another room about 8 metres away. Now I have got rid of that computer and every laptop is wireless.

    11. #50
      MGSteve's Avatar
      MGSteve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Lol! the internet has changed a lot in the last 8 years!

      under 2km you should get high speeds, anything under 5km you should get at least 1 meg. He definitely should be getting more.

      If hes on sky Base like his profile says, he should be getting the full 2 meg
      I know its changed a lot - hence why I now get 10x what I originally got. (Currently at 6.4mb, so more than 10x!).

      But the whole point was I thought I was 5m from the exchange, turns out I'm not so just forget I mentioned it! lol

      I just know I was near the limit in 2002, the limit I thought was 5m, but probably wasn't. Probably was more like 3km. God knows. I tried Googling for it, but I can only find the revised limits in 2004 which was 8-10km. So not much help.

      Anyway, we're going off at a tangent!

     

     
    Page 5 of 21 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION