Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 19 of 21 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 LastLast
    Results 181 to 190 of 210

    My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

    This is a discussion on My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No. Bt will sell the fibre optic to Sky and other ISP's, the same way you have internet now. BT ...

    1. #181
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      No. Bt will sell the fibre optic to Sky and other ISP's, the same way you have internet now. BT probably won't finish putting the fibre optic cable down until 2012. Even then your area might not get it.

      Just stay on sky for now.

      BT Infinity – How to get fibre optic broadband

      If you can get BT infinity in your area, it means you will eventually be able to get Fibre optic cable on sky, which is up to 40 meg down/ 10 meg up


    2. Advertisement
    3. #182
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      If you want 1.5 MegaByte download you will have to hope BT lays fibre optic in your area or Switch to virgin. I know BT is doing my area so its just a matter of waiting
      It's in my City but not my place.

      It says I can get 1.5Mb (MegaBytes I'm guessing).

      I'm perfectly happy with 1 megabyte.

    4. #183
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Mb = Megabits
      MB = MegaBytes

      Internet is always sold in Megabits, and if you want 1MB/s your router will need to sync @ 10240kbps (10Mbps)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #184
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      No it doesn't. It says you can get 1.5Mb, MEGABITS!

      Which is exactly what you have now.

    6. #185
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Thanks All,

      So 1 last question.

      Can I get any higher that 150kilabytes per second at the moment without moving house?

    7. #186
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Maybe, You can see if you can get Virgin media's fibre optic in your area, if so, you could get the 10/20 or 50 meg packages, even the 10 meg package offers around 1300Kilobytes per second download.

    8. #187
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Maybe, You can see if you can get Virgin media's fibre optic in your area, if so, you could get the 10/20 or 50 meg packages, even the 10 meg package offers around 1300Kilobytes per second download.
      Thanks, I think I'll stick with Sky for now.

      Come on Fibre Optic!

    9. #188
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      One last thing, do you game? either on the xbox, ps3 or on the pc?

      And do a pingtest as well Pingtest.net - The Global Broadband Quality Test and click 'forum link' and post it here

    10. #189
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Better doing a ping in a command prompt then off crappy speedtest.net/pingtest.net...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #190
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      True, but that doesn't test for packet loss? I find them to be unreliable at times unless you test 3-4 different servers, but it does give you an idea.

     

     
    Page 19 of 21 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION