Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 16 of 21 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast
    Results 151 to 160 of 210

    My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

    This is a discussion on My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by User05 What do your stats look like now? Connection Speed 490 kbps 657 kbps Line Attenuation 63 ...

    1. #151
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      What do your stats look like now?
      Connection Speed 490 kbps 657 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 38 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

      Also, I found a small green and white wire which was connected to nothing so maybe that could be a problem

      http://i875.photobucket.com/albums/a...g?t=1282721374
      http://i875.photobucket.com/albums/a...g?t=1282721374

      Can't really get a good photo because no light.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #152
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Speeds were reaching 60-70 kb/s but now back down to 30-40kb/s

    4. #153
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      I think you are confusing bits and bytes, 1 byte = 8 bits.
      700Kbps = 700 Kilobits per second
      700KBps = 700 killobytes per second, you will never reach 700 KBps without fibre optic cable due to your line quality/length

      at 490 you should be getting download speeds of around 55kbps, however your router has synced at its best speed (it aims for a noise margin of 7, which is what its at. )

      You might be better ringing them again, and ask CST if your line is on G.DMT or adsl2+, if its on adsl2+ it may be the reason why your sync speeds are so low. your line attenuation is only 1db higher than mine yet i have a extra 2000kbps sync speed.

      From the looks of your upstream line attenuation, you are on Adsl2+, ask them to change you to G.DMT

      (just tell the tier 1 staff you have a ticket open and want to speak to the customer solutions team)

    5. #154
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      I think you are confusing bits and bytes, 1 byte = 8 bits.
      700Kbps = 700 Kilobits per second
      700KBps = 700 killobytes per second, you will never reach 700 KBps without fibre optic cable due to your line quality/length

      at 490 you should be getting download speeds of around 55kbps, however your router has synced at its best speed (it aims for a noise margin of 7, which is what its at. )

      You might be better ringing them again, and ask CST if your line is on G.DMT or adsl2+, if its on adsl2+ it may be the reason why your sync speeds are so low. your line attenuation is only 1db higher than mine yet i have a extra 2000kbps sync speed.

      From the looks of your upstream line attenuation, you are on Adsl2+, ask them to change you to G.DMT

      (just tell the tier 1 staff you have a ticket open and want to speak to the customer solutions team)
      I've told this woman 3 times and she insists my broadband speed is 1.4 but it's 140kbytes/s. I'm now waiting to be put through to CST hopefully.

      On to CST

    6. #155
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Get put on G.DMT and see if your sync speed increases, if not, see if they will send you a free router

    7. #156
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      This CST person doesn't know what G.DMT is?

    8. #157
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Well he shouldn't be apart of the CST then.

      The one's i have spoken to knew what G.DMT and Adsl2+ were.

    9. #158
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      If those most recent stats are from the test socket then there isnt much point in you phoning them up as they show your connection on the max it can presently do. G.DMT (ADSL1) may give you a tiny amount more but it's more for stability on longer lines.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #159
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      If those most recent stats are from the test socket then there isnt much point in you phoning them up as they show your connection on the max it can presently do. G.DMT (ADSL1) may give you a tiny amount more but it's more for stability on longer lines.
      He's on a long line. Although he should be able to get at least 1 meg.

      You will get better results on G.DMT, it won't be massive, but anything is an improvement over your current speeds.

    11. #160
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats from Test Socket - Please Say If Anything Wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      If those most recent stats are from the test socket then there isnt much point in you phoning them up as they show your connection on the max it can presently do. G.DMT (ADSL1) may give you a tiny amount more but it's more for stability on longer lines.
      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      Well he shouldn't be apart of the CST then.

      The one's i have spoken to knew what G.DMT and Adsl2+ were.
      Ok, By Download Stream is 1504kbps (Kilabits per second)

      When I download any file on the internet it is not 1.5mbps

      I did have 1500kBps for about 2 seconds but then it's been dropping ever since.
      I'm still on 70kBps at the moment.

      I said that it could be a problem with the router and she said no it's not.

      My router is getting 1.5mbps but my computers are only getting 0.07mbps (70kBps)

      1024kBps is in 1mb, Correct?

     

     
    Page 16 of 21 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION