Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Not impressed

    This is a discussion on Not impressed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I switched from Seven Internet (Enta Reseller) to Sky BB Unlimited about 3 weeks ago and so far i'm less ...

    1. #1
      americanv8's Avatar
      americanv8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fencehouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not impressed

      I switched from Seven Internet (Enta Reseller) to Sky BB Unlimited about 3 weeks ago and so far i'm less than impressed. Is it always this slow??

      My previous setup was a Zyxel 660R modem with a DLink DIR-825 router, the Zyxel was sync up at between 6900/7100 constantly, it never dropped any lower.
      Since changing to Sky and having to use the atrocious Sagem thing i cant get sync'd much above 5700, and the speeds are pretty rubbish too. I'm no longer able to stream things from the likes of YouTube because its just too slow and buffers constantly. I've got my Dlink sitting alongside the Sagem purely for wireless purposes (Draft N) & Gig network ports but thats not the issue.

      Also switched the phoneline from BT to Sky if that makes any difference to things.

      Just did a speedtest using skyusers tester and got 1696kbps down & 642kbps up.
      Stats are
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5735 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.5 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 14.3 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not impressed

      Your sync is good

      Connection Speed 5735 kbps 796 kbps

      Are you doing the test wireless or wired?

      If wireless, try changing the channel or change to wired and try again. Unlimited is in not in any way shaped or slowed down, the issues you say sound possibly like an error at your end. You are just over 5.7meg - Youtube and everything else should be fine.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      americanv8's Avatar
      americanv8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fencehouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not impressed

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Your sync is good

      Connection Speed 5735 kbps 796 kbps

      Are you doing the test wireless or wired?

      If wireless, try changing the channel or change to wired and try again. Unlimited is in not in any way shaped or slowed down, the issues you say sound possibly like an error at your end. You are just over 5.7meg - Youtube and everything else should be fine.
      My sync isn't good, my main point was previous ISP & my own kit was syncing at around 7meg. Switching to sky had wiped out over a meg.
      All tests were wired

    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not impressed

      I find it difficult to accept that with your line attenuation of 47.5db you claim to have previously sync of 6900/7100kbps. Albeit with a different ISP. I suspect that your SNR was somewhere around 3db to have attained that.

      What you have now is spot on for your attenuation.
      Go here ::. Kitz - Max speed calculator .:: enter your line attenuation of 47.5db
      Your SNR is bang on, the default being 6.9db

    6. #5
      americanv8's Avatar
      americanv8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fencehouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not impressed

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      I find it difficult to accept that with your line attenuation of 47.5db you claim to have previously sync of 6900/7100kbps. Albeit with a different ISP. I suspect that your SNR was somewhere around 3db to have attained that.

      What you have now is spot on for your attenuation.
      Go here ::. Kitz - Max speed calculator .:: enter your line attenuation of 47.5db
      Your SNR is bang on, the default being 6.9db
      Yes you're about right there, my snr used to be around 3db previously

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Not impressed

      Sky target a higher SNR to maintain a more stable connection.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Not impressed

      Quote Originally Posted by americanv8 View Post
      My sync isn't good, my main point was previous ISP & my own kit was syncing at around 7meg. Switching to sky had wiped out over a meg.
      All tests were wired
      I meant in relation to your test results.

      I am on 45db and get roughly about 7.5meg ish, but a whole lot better than 1696kbps down & 642kbps up




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not impressed

      Just did a speedtest using skyusers tester and got 1696kbps down & 642kbps up.
      This is very poor for the sync speed you have. You should have a d/l speed of around 5Mb. Can you boot into Safe Mode with Networking and re-run the test?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Not impressed

      Even if your speedtesting at 1696 that should still be sufficient to use youtube on all video settings except the HD ones. Sounds very much to me like an error on your line or a virus on your computer eating up the available bandwidth. Do you get constant network activity lights on the router even when your internet browser is closed?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION