Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Moved to Sky, slow speed

    This is a discussion on Moved to Sky, slow speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My broadband moved to Sky Unlimited LLU from O2 Pro LLU on Tues via MAC code. When I was with ...

    1. #1
      Youngy's Avatar
      Youngy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford upon Avon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Moved to Sky, slow speed

      My broadband moved to Sky Unlimited LLU from O2 Pro LLU on Tues via MAC code. When I was with O2 I had speeds around 11MB down and 1MB up. Sky has been syncing at 4MB down and 512KB up, today crept up to 5MB down and 768KB up.

      In these 10 days of 'training' can I expect any jump in speeds to previous O2 levels?

      These are the stats from my Sky supplied Sagem router:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5022 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 db 18.1 db
      Noise Margin 12.7 db 11.0 db

      How are those figures?

      On another note, the Sky supplied Sagem router is pretty poor, only wireless-G, outdated WPA security, and very basic interface, quite disappointing. I used my own DLink 2740R with O2, which is wireless-N and WPA2 (and also allows 2x XBox Live sessions concurrently) - but I see Sky are strict about T&C's and dont allow use of different router.
      Last edited by Youngy; 20-08-10 at 09:03 PM. Reason: clarified both are LLU


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      It should achieve the same speed in theory, have anything new apart from the router been introduced to the line? Sky tv added etc?

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      O2 set a slightly lower noise margin so you may see a little less speed with Sky.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      but I see Sky are strict about T&C's and dont allow use of different router.
      I don't know where you see that, there is no record on this forum of anyone being penalized for using another router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Youngy's Avatar
      Youngy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford upon Avon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      It should achieve the same speed in theory, have anything new apart from the router been introduced to the line? Sky tv added etc?
      No changes, we've had Sky tv for years, just recently moved broadband to them also.

      Speed has crept up a bit more now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6138 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 db 18.1 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 11.5 db

    7. #6
      Youngy's Avatar
      Youngy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford upon Avon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't know where you see that, there is no record on this forum of anyone being penalized for using another router.
      Well they dont issue your username/password, instead you have to obtain it from the router.
      One of the reasons for us for moving to Sky broadband is the planned Anytime+ VoD service, hopefully that will work with other routers.
      Last edited by Youngy; 22-08-10 at 05:42 PM.

    8. #7
      Youngy's Avatar
      Youngy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford upon Avon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      Well the 10 days 'training' are up and its settled at:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6138 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 db 18.1 db
      Noise Margin 8.1 db 11.5 db

      Quite disappointed with the speed compared to O2, should I expect better with those stats?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      Not much, can you plug into the Test socket and take your stats from there. Remember you are probably capped so you will not see a speed increase.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      With your attenuation and a decent line you should get 11-13Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      According to your NM you won't get much more, however you will need to check to see if anything is causing noise. connect to the test socket and repost the stats, if your Noise margin increases notable then it means its your internal wiring. If you speak to sky, use their router, however you should be fine to use your own router the rest of the time and should receive higher sync speeds using your own router.

    11. #10
      Youngy's Avatar
      Youngy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stratford upon Avon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky, slow speed

      Thanks for your replies.

      Im still using the Sky sagem router, connected it into the test socket earlier and these are the stats:

      Master Test Socket:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6138 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 17.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.8 db 12.5 db

      Compared to via normal extension socket:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6138 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 db 18.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 11.0 db

      Even the BT checker says the line should support 9Mbps. How do the stats look? Should I speak to Sky about this cap?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION