Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Why so slow?

    This is a discussion on Why so slow? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there any reason as to why the speeds are so slow, i've gone from a 20Mb cable connection with ...

    1. #1
      Zed's Avatar
      Zed
      Zed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Why so slow?

      Is there any reason as to why the speeds are so slow, i've gone from a 20Mb cable connection with virgin to a 20Mb dsl connection with Sky and these are the speeds



      it wont go anywhere above 3.5Mbps no matter what.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      You are on an up yo 20 Mb connection. The speed you get depends on your distance from the exchange and the condition of your phone line. Post your stats. Speedtest.net is a waste of time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Zed's Avatar
      Zed
      Zed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      Sorry, which stats and how do i find them?

      I was told on the phone i would get between 10Mb-20Mb

      EDIT:

      i think this is what you mean?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 16.0db
      Noise Margin 12.1db 17.0db

      Distance (Direct) from exchange: 0.48mi

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      For that attenuation that noise margin isn't that good, I have the same attenuation roughly and my noise margin is higher. How many telephone sockets have you got Zee and how many are in use?
      Also if you have Sky tv make sure you fit a filter in front of the double splitter the sky tv installer normally throws straight onto the socket without mentioning its not a filter.

    6. #5
      Zed's Avatar
      Zed
      Zed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      For that attenuation that noise margin isn't that good, I have the same attenuation roughly and my noise margin is higher. How many telephone sockets have you got Zee and how many are in use?
      Also if you have Sky tv make sure you fit a filter in front of the double splitter the sky tv installer normally throws straight onto the socket without mentioning its not a filter.
      I have 2 phone sockets, the main one downstairs where the router/telephone is connected to and one in my room which is completly dead, it was installed by NTL some years ago.

      I have Sky TV but it isn't connected to a phone line as we paid to not have this connected to a phone line.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      That's very strange, I would try another filter, we have a slightly higher attenuation but manage a stable 16Mb on very old telephone wiring and lines that are on overhead poles.
      Do you have test socket plate or just the old type? Any noise on the line during calls?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      Also bare in mind you're on DLM (read your welcome letter for details)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Zed's Avatar
      Zed
      Zed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      yes i must be on the test speed at the moment as its changed this morning

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9262 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 15.9db
      Noise Margin 8.6db 8.0db



      Is this speed test about right for my stats?

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Why so slow?

      That's about 7Mb less than I get on my connection and my attenuation is slightly higher than yours, your noise margin doesn't seem as good as it could be for some reason.
      Do you get any background hissing/ noise on your line during calls?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION