Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; From a thread elsewhere I was pointed to this forum as a possible means of help: I think I am ...

    1. #1
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      From a thread elsewhere I was pointed to this forum as a possible means of help:

      I think I am now on unlimited.
      The SKY package says that - the broadband usage tool says I'll soon be on unlimited.
      Router stats:

      System Up Time 119:33:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 137946 190518 0 928 3951 13:47:27
      LAN 10M/100M 1039498 839392 0 2179 545 119:33:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 40494 2035 0 34 0 119:33:12


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 910 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 14.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 6.0 db


      Does any of this indicate DLM I wonder?

      I have run TCPOptimiser - if anything it seemd to make things worse - but I'm not sure because speeds are fluctuating by several Mbps

      Currently the SKY speed test shows 7064 down and 755 up. Before I was on unlimited speeds in the download department were usually around the 8.5Mbps.

      Any suggestions folks?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      Connect to your test socket and repost your stats, yu should be getting more
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      There was a slight speed increase this morning via the test socket:

      8.8dl
      678up

      Back on the usual socket:
      8.6d
      760up

      Different modem each time I know at the SKY endl

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      It is the noise margin that is important when you are in the Test socket. When you plug in there does it rise? It is always better to post your stats, the speeds are meaningless during the training period without the other figures.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It is the noise margin that is important when you are in the Test socket. When you plug in there does it rise? It is always better to post your stats, the speeds are meaningless during the training period without the other figures.
      Thanks,
      This morning the skyuser speed checker shows over 10Mbps d/l (I've run it twice to check - the thinkbroadband checker which was always fairly reliable - but since it has gone to its new format is consistently showing about 3Mbps less - even with PORT80 checked. So sure what has happened there.

      In case DLM is running I think I'll desist from interrupting things for a while, but come back if I may when I can be sure it has completed.

      Cheers

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      As advised, we need the router stats from both locations, without them it is guesswork.

    8. #7
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      As advised, we need the router stats from both locations, without them it is guesswork.
      I understand - but I am reluctant to unplug the router ATM for the reason above.

      What I can report is a complete change now in the stats from where it was.

      Compare yesterday's stats:

      System Up Time 119:33:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 137946 190518 0 928 3951 13:47:27
      LAN 10M/100M 1039498 839392 0 2179 545 119:33:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 40494 2035 0 34 0 119:33:12


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 910 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 14.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 6.0 db


      With today:


      System Up Time 26:17:57
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 44488 74301 0 517 1803 10:27:22
      LAN 10M/100M 123990 86320 0 988 457 26:17:54
      WLAN 11M/54M 6589 0 0 28 0 26:17:47


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13304 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 14.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 8.5 db

      So connection speed has been increased by virtually 3 Mbps

      Cheers,
      James

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      Well that looks a lot batter and as long as the noise margin stays stable you should be ok.

    10. #9
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      47
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Well that looks a lot batter and as long as the noise margin stays stable you should be ok.
      Thanks Smithy,

      Does the connection speed look like what all unlimited users get I wonder - connection rather than d/l?

      Cheers

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Not optimum since transferred to Unlimited

      No, connection speed is subject to the line lenght and condition, some get 20mb some get >1mb so you are doing well.

      With my stats, I get 18+mb mainly because I am closer to the yelephone exchange than you so get less noise on the line.

      The TEST socket stats may show you have room for improvement when you post them after DLM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION