Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Got activated today a few questions

    This is a discussion on Got activated today a few questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme You say you have tied the master socket, did you remove the faceplate and try the ...

    1. #11
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You say you have tied the master socket, did you remove the faceplate and try the Test socket? Your speed will not change, but other figures may, please post your stats from the Test socket.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket
      I have the master socket in the hallway with filter and one phone. and i have a extension from that going up stairs to where the computer is. These are my line stats in both sockets. The master socket was pluuged into test socket. Bell wire is not connected

      Plugged in to master socket

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4094 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 30.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 15.9 db



      Plugged in to Extension

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4088 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 30.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 16.0 db


      As you can see not much difference i think its best left plugged in till the 10 days then see what happens then


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      It is the Test socket you need to plug directly into for an accurate check, but as you say, leave it till the training period is over. With your present figures, it does not look like you will get much more on your download, but you will get a bit more upload.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Got activated today a few questions

      It seems strange how my line att is at 54db when it ranged from 48 to 50db. I think I have a bad connection from master socket to the exchange somewhere and because my Internet is working BT will not do anything

    5. #14
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      just checked my line stats they seems better. and i might get better yet if my snr is 8.3db as i guess the target is 6db

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4747 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 30.7 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 9.5 db

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      The target noise margin is 6.9dbs, so you might see 5Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      5mb will do me fine. I guess now im not able to check my ip profile with the bt speed tester as im not with bt anymore is that correct

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      You do not have an IP profile with Sky LLU. Your speed will be capped at its best stable speed and that is what you get, less overheads of course..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      Well my stats are a bit better with a speedtest of 4500kbps. But my noise margin looks a bit low might drop out when it is dark

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5159 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 30.8 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 9.5 db

    10. #19
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      My sync has really dropped since being activated just swapped over to my trusty speedtouch 585 but still have rubbish sync whats going on

      Uptime: 0 days, 0:03:53

      DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A

      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 798 / 3.068

      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 470,00 / 2,14

      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,0 / 17,5

      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,0 / 53,0

      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,5 / 7,5

      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / BDCM

      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Link (Remote): 0

      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 238

      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 28 / 0

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Got activated today a few questions

      You seem to have lost 2 Mb from your last post. It may be better if you stick with the Sky router, at least until your connection is settled. Is DLM still running?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION