Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've recently moved home and decided to upgrade from my original mid package to unlimited. My connection was activated ...

    1. #1
      dflour69's Avatar
      dflour69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hastings
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      Hi,
      I've recently moved home and decided to upgrade from my original mid package to unlimited. My connection was activated about 2 weeks ago. I have fitted a filtered faceplate (Solwise) which is on the master (only) socket. I am using an original Netgear router connected to my PC by cable. My stats, which have hardly changed since day 1, are below. Line testing is not currently in progress.


      System Up Time 92:09:12
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3180670 5398699 0 497 10760 92:08:20
      LAN 10M/100M 5402168 3233138 0 11054 745 92:09:09
      WLAN 11M/54M 48703 0 0 28 0 92:09:02

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 17.9 db 13.5 db


      I would be grateful for any advice.

      TIA.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      telephone88's Avatar
      telephone88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      If your line has already been through the testing period you will need to call sky to have the line reconfigured. Should get quite a few megs.

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      I would expect 12+mb easily with those stats.

      Ring Sky and get them to manually configure the line.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      Should be around 13mb if the noise margin stays consistent throughout the day. Check Mysky and see if it says line testing has completed and if so give them a ring for the line to be manually configured.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      dflour69's Avatar
      dflour69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hastings
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      Thanks for the replies. I have checked My Sky and all it says is 'line testing is not currently in progress'.

    7. #6
      DarrylWilliams87's Avatar
      DarrylWilliams87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merthyr Tydfil (SWMT/EX)
      Broadband ISP: Xilo(Uno Broadband) atm soon Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      Not sure how good them filters are never used them but adslnation.com are more commonly used nowdays around here.

      If you use other sockets in the house grab their faceplate version if not get their splitter one. From the looks of your stats though looks as if the filter is fine and if you got sky to reduce your SNR = more mb

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds? (the old chestnut) :)

      Quote Originally Posted by dflour69 View Post
      Thanks for the replies. I have checked My Sky and all it says is 'line testing is not currently in progress'.
      Have you phoned Sky yet for a manual configuration? It will not improve until you do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION