Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Bad Sky Connection

    This is a discussion on Bad Sky Connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Im new to this forum and the reason i registered is same to alot of other people... i need real ...

    1. #1
      Linksaber's Avatar
      Linksaber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bad Sky Connection

      Im new to this forum and the reason i registered is same to alot of other people... i need real help. I have Sky Unlimited Broadband which means i can get up to 20mb however i get less than 2. Because my connection is so bad i did some research on the internet and there were lots of method i found that can make my connection better, howver none of them worked. Something is particular strange though, loading a page up is quite decent and fast, however whenever i upload and download, its so bad that it doesnt upload/download is just keep having that loading or buffering sign. Even worst is that my PS3 connection is **** bad.


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 148060 97942 0 102031 6275 0:37:08
      LAN 63 0 0 0 0 0:38:24
      WLAN 116341 165012 0 7478 91266 0:37:59
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1760 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.1 db 12.0 db
      Last edited by Linksaber; 12-08-10 at 08:50 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      All the details for getting your router stats and for testing from the test socket are on the left in the "Quick Links" section. Please post a set from your normal position and from the test socket (if you have one).

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      Linksaber's Avatar
      Linksaber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      may sound stupid but i no how to get it i jus dont no how to get the image into the post

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      When your posting just click the paper clip to add the image as an attachment. You can also copy and paste the details as text from the page if you would find that easier.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Linksaber's Avatar
      Linksaber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      i done it but it looks abit weird lol

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      It's also invisible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      davech's Avatar
      davech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Binley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It's also invisible.
      Or they've pasted it into the first post.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      Or they've pasted it into the first post.
      Some mothers Why not include it with the post saying has been done?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      You are capped and a call to sky should get you up to 4mb, are those stats from the test socket? If not please post some from the test socket as there may be a little more speed to be had but bear in mind you have a pretty long line.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #10
      gnfnrs666's Avatar
      gnfnrs666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01828
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Sky Connection

      Hi im new to this forum and have the same problem to linksaber
      i have just moved from BT to sky and the connection is crap on all my pcs and game consoles but i had no problem with the BT connection

      i have attached a screenshot of my router stats
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Bad Sky Connection-untitled.jpg  
      Last edited by gnfnrs666; 13-09-10 at 09:41 PM. Reason: added speed test

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION