Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

    This is a discussion on Download Speed of Only 30kbps! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Also, What is the max download speed I can get and how can I get it? I don't want to ...

    1. #11
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

      Also, What is the max download speed I can get and how can I get it?

      I don't want to phone Sky and just say ''Can you make my internet faster?''


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      How many telephone sockets do you use in the house?
      Is the router connected to an extension socket or the master socket?
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable sky supplied, or an extension cable to the router? i.e. is the router directly beside the socket that it's plugged into, or is it far from the telephone socket.
      Does every telephone socket in use have a microfilter (a two way white box with 'adsl' 'phone' and 'modem' on it) connected directly into the telephone socket?
      Do you have sky tv plugged in anywhere?
      I have 1 socket and I have 1 extension socket
      Router is connected to an extension
      Using grey but not sure if short.
      Router is about 10metres away from the master
      Yes, Got a Microfilter in Master and maybe 1 in Extension
      I have Sky TV in 2 rooms in the house.

      Would it be better if I moved the router to Master socket?

    4. #13
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

      With the present set-up, the line is capped to keep it stable due to (probable) excessive errors. You're best checking the following:

      - Ensure that both telephone sockets have a microfilter connected. Double check that if sky tv is plugged into the sockets that the sky tv splitter (a blank white two-way box) is plugged in AFTER the microfilter into the filter's 'phone' port. Rule of thumb is that the filter has to be the first thing into the telephone socket; nothing running before the filter.

      - Plug the router into the master socket with the short grey dsl cable sky supplied.

      Re-post up your stats once you've done that and they'll perhaps look a bit better. Either way, a call to sky will be required once the set-up is fixed in order to lift the cap. Just suggest you have a slow speed and they'll take it from there.

    5. #14
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

      My phone line is confusing because I've got the mains which has an extension in and then another extension which leads to the Sky TV which I have a Modem and ASDL thing which has a ASDL with nothing in and a modem connected to the Sky+ box. There is another extension plugged into the modem which leads to my dining room where my Router is. I have the extension leading to another extension then I have a wireless phone and Router plugged into that extension.

      I tried moving it to the extension by my Sky Box but that made no difference.
      I also noticed that there is a grey ASDL cable in the back of the Sky box which is connected to an ASDL.

      I don't want to move anything that I'm unsure of just incase.
      I'm only 14 by the way so my Dad would do all the phoning up.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

      I think you should ask your dad to look at this thread, so that he knows the guys here are trying to help you.
      It looks like you have the router plugged into a trailing extension which in turn is plugged into an extension socket. That can have a very bad effect on broadband.
      What I would advise is plugging your router into the master socket using only the cable and filter supplied by Sky. Unplug everything else that is plugged into the phone circuit. Take your stats and post them. If you have a Test socket, plug into that and post the stats.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      I also noticed that there is a grey ASDL cable in the back of the Sky box which is connected to an ASDL.
      This is a dial up connection, not ADSL, it must be plugged into a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps's Avatar
      DownloadSpeedof30kbps is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Download Speed of Only 30kbps!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think you should ask your dad to look at this thread, so that he knows the guys here are trying to help you.
      It looks like you have the router plugged into a trailing extension which in turn is plugged into an extension socket. That can have a very bad effect on broadband.
      What I would advise is plugging your router into the master socket using only the cable and filter supplied by Sky. Unplug everything else that is plugged into the phone circuit. Take your stats and post them. If you have a Test socket, plug into that and post the stats.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket


      This is a dial up connection, not ADSL, it must be plugged into a filter.
      Thanks, I will try later on when no one is watching TV or on the phone.

      I will post results tomorrow morning or in the night today.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION