Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Soon to be on sky broadband

    This is a discussion on Soon to be on sky broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi my activation date is going through next monday (fingers crossed) Im leaving fast.co.uk who are a top notch provided ...

    1. #1
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Soon to be on sky broadband

      Hi my activation date is going through next monday (fingers crossed) Im leaving fast.co.uk who are a top notch provided but you pay for it (22.99pm). Im just wondering if the estimated speed is to be taken with a pinch of salt as i get 4.5mb sometimes 5mb at the moment now but sky estimates it going to be 3.5mb??
      I not expecting it to be super fast as with normal cheap broadband its over subscribed but with the choice of either talktalk llu or sky llu in my exchange I thought it was time to give a LLU service ago instead of BT
      i picked sky as i have had dealings with talktalk before And the saving from 22.99pm to 7.50pm is a good saving. Are these speed estimates normaly correct??. I know i need to go through the normal 10 day taining period again. Oh and are theses Sagem routers any good or is it best to use your own??

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Soon to be on sky broadband

      Im just wondering if the estimated speed is to be taken with a pinch of salt as i get 4.5mb sometimes 5mb at the moment now but sky estimates it going to be 3.5mb??
      You should get at least the same if not better if on Max / Unlimited

      I not expecting it to be super fast as with normal cheap broadband its over subscribed but with the choice of either talktalk llu or sky llu in my exchange I thought it was time to give a LLU service ago instead of BT
      The only Sky Broadband service with issues is Connect all the rest there are very few complaints about. If any issues, normally either a fault or a wiring issue in the user's home.

      I know i need to go through the normal 10 day taining period again.
      The Sky DLM is different to BT's

      Oh and are theses Sagem routers any good or is it best to use your own??
      Yep normally - I am still using mine, albeit I am now on o2




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Soon to be on sky broadband

      Thanks for replies my exchange only got sky LLU last month so I doubt it would be over subscribed yet so all is good hopefully will see on Monday

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on sky broadband

      Oh and are theses Sagem routers any good or is it best to use your own??
      The latest router is a D-Link 2640S. There are not many reports on them yet, but in theory they should be better than the previous routers. Similar to this, but in a Sky corporate case.-
      D-Link ADSL2/2+ Modem with Wireless Router

      It comes with QoS and WPA2, so unless Sky have crippled it with their firmware it will be an improvement on the old ones.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      shadow_boxer's Avatar
      shadow_boxer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Midlands
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on sky broadband

      i thought the routers being used are Sagem F@st 2504? has anyone who has RECENTLY joined sky got the Sagem or the DLink one? thanks in advance!

    7. #6
      davech's Avatar
      davech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Binley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on sky broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by shadow_boxer View Post
      i thought the routers being used are Sagem F@st 2504? has anyone who has RECENTLY joined sky got the Sagem or the DLink one? thanks in advance!
      I got the Sagem one, so either Sky are using up their existing stocks of Sagem routers, or they are still sourcing routers from multiple suppliers.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION