Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    NAT settings help needed

    This is a discussion on NAT settings help needed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I would like to my NAT settings to be on open, because it would help my gaming. However, recently it ...

    1. #1
      Russellonfire's Avatar
      Russellonfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question NAT settings help needed

      I would like to my NAT settings to be on open, because it would help my gaming. However, recently it was on moderate, which was OK, and I could live with that. But after turning off my router's power so I could solve an internet problem, my NAT was reset to strict. I don't undertstand why it has done this, as it has only ever been moderate or open in the past. It is very frustrating, as it means I have no way to connect to people whose NAT settings aren't open. How can I fix this, and why has it changed?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: NAT settings help needed

      Russellonfire
      Hi the only thing I can do is point you toward links that should help Strict NAT on Modern Warfare 2 PC and Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live are they any good I will look for more information

    4. #3
      Russellonfire's Avatar
      Russellonfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NAT settings help needed

      Well, it's on my xbox 360, and I've tried all this stuff. I really don't want to take down my router firewall, unless I have to. Other than that, any other suggestions? (I've opened up the respective ports, but this didn't help, and we've lost the router password.)

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: NAT settings help needed

      Russellonfire
      Hi your router password would have gone back to the default which is sky then just reset to what ever you want to use. I will have a look around for more information.
      This looks like a good link NAT settings using 2 XBOXs and Get 2 Xbox's 'OPEN' NAT with Sky?
      Last edited by steve16751; 11-08-10 at 03:35 AM.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NAT settings help needed

      If you only have one Xbox, have a look at this thread -
      Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Russellonfire's Avatar
      Russellonfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NAT settings help needed

      Well, my router is already set up, and I have been playing it for a while.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NAT settings help needed

      If it is not working now, try using UPnP or stick a pin in the reset hole at the back of the router, hold it there for 10 secs or until the lights flash. Try UPnP again and if it still does not work, follow the tutorial in the Link.

      Make sure UPnP is turned on in the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION