Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    please help im not sure what wrong

    This is a discussion on please help im not sure what wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all. ive been having lots of problems with my BB i desided to try my own router. first few ...

    1. #1
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      please help im not sure what wrong

      hi all.

      ive been having lots of problems with my BB i desided to try my own router.

      first few days was great then the old problems returned

      i basicly worked it down to the line/filter/phone, here what happens

      i connect just the router both sky and my own (not at same time) with adsl nation plate.

      sky 8500k at 6.5 nosie margin my own at 9000k at 6 noise margin.
      soon i plug phone in the noise margin drops to 3 or under and router/s needs rebooting they then lock at 7000-7600k at 6-7 noise margin.

      i then put bt plate back on redid test more or lest the same then repeated with 3 new filters in test socket with more or less same result.

      there no other devices connected to master socket or lines just router and phone.

      now if i connect phone and reset router at above speeds within 1-2days depends on use the noise margin slowly drops by max 2 days to point router needs to reboot.

      phone line to house is 2 years old from pole. bt and sky says no faults on the line.

      ive just bought new phone thinking its that again same result


      anyone able to help ?????

      i be an very happy person if you can


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      Can you confirm that this occurs with another phone? Does it also occur in the test socket with a new filter?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      It looks like your router is syncing too high to maintain the connection. Post your stats and we will have a better idea.
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      Hi
      thanks for replying

      yes im sorry to say ive tryed 3 new phones one corded and two cordless ( and with filters in test socket)

      ive removed the faceplate and tryed 5 or more new filters diffent brands etc

      all the same sort of results

      so far sky have been not the best in helping the normal ive changed one or two things see how it gos also had another router sent out, again same problem.

      would it be worth asking BT to run an check or something ??

      thanks
      Gavin

    6. #5
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      rate :874 kbps
      noise margin upstream: 0 db
      attenuation upstream: 26 db


      rate :9002 kbps
      noise margin downstream: 7 db
      attenuation downstream: 45 db

    7. #6
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      rate :874 kbps
      noise margin upstream: 26 db
      attenuation upstream: 26 db

      checked again and just jumped to this
      EDIT
      seems to of leveled out at 8db
      Last edited by nitromad; 10-08-10 at 06:13 PM. Reason: update

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      With a downstream attenuation of 45 dbs, 9000kbps is a pretty fast sync speed. This may be your problem, most with that attenuation would get 7-8000 kbps. Although your noise margin is OK now, it will probably drop when the phone lines get noisier. When it does drop you should leave it at the speed it syncs at and that should keep it stable. If you reboot it when the line is quiet it will connect at the high speed again and put you back on to the same cycle of drop outs..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      hi
      thanks for reply

      i ask them to cap it again see if the drop outs stop .i was on cap before i upgraded and still had this problem. i email them and get it capped and see what happens.

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      nitromad
      Hi When you do your stats just copy and paste them to your next post the
      noise margin upstream: 0 db
      The router does not show 0db Upstream it shows 2147483647 db upstream. What do you think Tom is that right.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: please help im not sure what wrong

      What do you think Tom is that right.
      No, it only shows that figure when the value is negative. 0 (zero) is not negative, the next drop down would put it into a negative value where 2147483647 would be shown.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION