Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

    This is a discussion on Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; At about 8pm on 04/08 my ADSL line dropped from around 1mbps down / 0.5 up to this. Code: Statistics ...

    1. #1
      Sambyte's Avatar
      Sambyte is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      At about 8pm on 04/08 my ADSL line dropped from around 1mbps down / 0.5 up to this.

      Code:
      Statistics 	Downstream 	Upstream 	
      Line Rate 	126 Kbps 	124 Kbps 	
      Noise Margin 	16.3 dB 	16.1 dB 	
      Line Attenuation 	70.0 dB 	36.9 dB 	
      Output Power 	10.5 dBm 	1.8 dBm
      This is from the test socket. Sky are denying that there is a problem their end.. Yet I have tried 2 routers, multiple microfilters and even the 2 BT engineers that were sent out to my area this morning found no fault with my telephone line!

      However my routers diagnostics page says this:

      Code:
      Test the connection to your ADSL service provider
      Test ADSL Synchronization: 	PASS 
      Test ATM OAM F5 segment ping: 	FAIL 
      Test ATM OAM F5 end-to-end ping: 	PASS 
      	
      Test the connection to your Internet service provider
      Test PPP server connection: 	PASS 
      Test authentication with ISP: 	PASS 
      Test the assigned IP address: 	PASS 
      Ping default gateway: 	FAIL
      Frankly I'm getting sick of Skys "Can you reboot your PC" and "Our network is fine"

      So I am posting here to see if anyone else is experiencing the same issues in the CO10 postal code area.

      I live about 4km from the exchange and have broadband here for the best part of 5 years. Starting with 512kbps with Zen, then 512kbps with Tiscali and since Feb I have had Sky at 1mbps. So surely my line can't have suddenly become incompatible.

      And of course on phoning BT directly to check exchange issues they tell me that they are unable to access my account details because Sky have restricted them access.

      I did speak to a friend of mine who is an ADSL guru somewhat and she suggests that the EASUD exchange connects to WEWPAD Or WEWNPN (Can't remember). Who apparantly are still "Fixing" the exchange after a fire back in march.

      If anyone has any suggestions as to what I can do about this I would be very appreciative.

      Regards,

      Samuel


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      Looks to me like you're just capped at 128/128 adsl2plus. Did sky send out the two Openreach engineers?

    4. #3
      Sambyte's Avatar
      Sambyte is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      When I spoke to the engineers they said their report had my name on it. If I stick my router in G.DMT i get 128/128. Currently however it is in ADSL2+.

      I just want to get my internet functioning properly again so I can get back to working from home rather than sitting in the local skip companies office using their broadband (My stepfathers business)

      EDIT: Just after the line came back up last night it's speed was 224/416. Then after a router reboot it was 190/416 and ever since i called sky its been around 126 down and the up is always 124

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      It looks like sky capped the line to 128/128 baseline as part of troubleshooting and have literally forgotten to uncap the line. I'd give them a call and get them to uncap your connection.

    6. #5
      Sambyte's Avatar
      Sambyte is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      Ok I shall give that a try. I shall let you know when I recieve a response

    7. #6
      Sambyte's Avatar
      Sambyte is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      Just got off the phone with a very helpful gentleman that confirmed your theory.

      He set the line profile back at a meg but its having some major stability issues now and appears to have been brought down to this

      Code:
      Statistics 	Downstream 	Upstream 	
      Line Rate 	321 Kbps 	412 Kbps 	
      Noise Margin 	9.0 dB 	16.0 dB 	
      Line Attenuation 	69.0 dB 	36.8 dB 	
      Output Power 	14.3 dBm 	10.9 dBm

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      As in is it dropping sync now? Are there any error statistics, specifically CRCs, on your router? Stats look dodgy - just to confirm:

      Those stats, as you mentioned earlier, are from the test socket behind the master faceplate?
      You've swapped the filter?
      You're not running any extensions to the router i.e. you're using the short grey dsl cable sky supplied?
      Do you have any noise on the landline?
      The OR engineer(s) that came out; did they actually visit your premises at all?

      P.S. Change your line code to g.dmt and check for any improvements in sync speeds out of curiosity.

    9. #8
      Sambyte's Avatar
      Sambyte is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      All the stats I have given are from the test socket behind the faceplate, using the same short DSL cable that I have used for months. Even tried another and I have replaced both filters in use in the house. I dropped into G.DMT and got 160kbps. And after switching back to ADSL2+ im getting the following

      Code:
      Statistics 	Downstream 	Upstream 	
      Line Rate 	263 Kbps 	412 Kbps 	
      Noise Margin 	7.8 dB 	15.9 dB 	
      Line Attenuation 	69.0 dB 	36.8 dB 	
      Output Power 	13.1 dBm 	12.5 dBm
      The BT engineers didnt come inside the house. They did however check all the boxes in the ground on the pavement right next to my driveway and we had a BT test signal on our landline for most of the morning. I caught up with them as I was leaving to find somewhere to get internet for work. At that time they had found nothing. So although it seems that my 128kbps problem has been solved there may indeed still be a line issue somewhere. As I was getting a very stable and low latency 1mbps which I was quite happy with

      EDIT: There was a line drop out when it was running at 917kbps and now its running stable around 300ish with no errors and after another reboot the stats are like this

      Code:
      Statistics 	Downstream 	Upstream 	
      Line Rate 	263 Kbps 	412 Kbps 	
      Noise Margin 	7.8 dB 	15.9 dB 	
      Line Attenuation 69.0 dB 	36.8 dB 	
      Output Power 	13.1 dBm 	12.5 dBm

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      Sounds like it was possibly a standard LL1 engineer visit. If you confirm with sky exactly what's been established so far (test socket, no noise on the landline, numerous filters, dsl cable and router tried) then the next action would be an LL5 engineer I assume. Are you aware if you're on the 'sky voice and broadband network', otherwise known as 'SVBN'?

    11. #10
      Sambyte's Avatar
      Sambyte is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sudbury, Suffolk exchange segments?

      I have no idea about what SVBN is. I will give them another call tomorrow about it and reopen the ticket that they closed when the line sat a 917kbps for a few mins.

      I was offered to be put onto their 8ms profile though as I am a bit of a gamer. Would it help?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION