Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Low Speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had Sky Broadband for 11 days now and I'm still only syncing at 3Mbit. I had hoped I'd get ...

    1. #1
      andrewj's Avatar
      andrewj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      I've had Sky Broadband for 11 days now and I'm still only syncing at 3Mbit.

      I had hoped I'd get much more living 1km from the exchange (as the crow flys)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3050 kbps 312 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5db 15.8db
      Noise Margin 6.8db 7.2db

      These are my stats. Any suggestions? Do you think I could get more?

      I can't remember what my stats were at previous house but I was around 1km from exchange then and got around 15Mbit (with slightly tweaked router).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      telephone88's Avatar
      telephone88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      Are these stats from the test socket? If not then get the router into the test socket via a filter and check your stats again.

      My line is 26db downstram and I get 16mb

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      How are you connected to the line? Your attenuation is low and your speed should be better but your noise margin is stopping it from improving. Have you got anything at all attached to the telephone line without a filter or using a telephone extension lead?

    5. #4
      andrewj's Avatar
      andrewj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      We're in a flat.. there's only one socket here with the Sky box and router plugged into a filter.

      I guess it has something to do with the way the flat is wired, which probably means I can only have 3mb?

    6. #5
      andrewj's Avatar
      andrewj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      Also.. I've unscrewed the socket and it looks like there's two lines going into it. Could this affect it?

      One line runs along the skirting board, into a little small box with a BT logo on which then leaves the flat via brown cable. The other goes behind the socket somewhere..

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      Any chance of a photo? Is the filter the first thing on the line as some installers put the sky tv splitter on the socket and then don't mention it to the customer.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      I've unscrewed the socket and it looks like there's two lines going into it
      It looks like you have another socket somewhere that you have not found yet. Maybe in a cupboard? This could have an effect. If you don't want it, pull the wires off and try your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      andrewj's Avatar
      andrewj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      Okay here are some pics, I've found the other socket that connects to this one and it just seems to be an extension or whatever, looks exactly the same as this one but nothing plugged in.

      If I take that wire away could it help?

      Pics:



    10. #9
      andrewj's Avatar
      andrewj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      Well I took away all the small wires that the wire going through the wall to the other socket was connected to.

      No difference though. :/

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3068 kbps 319 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5db 15.7db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 6.6db

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Low Speeds?

      Yes, if you are not going to use the extension, take the wires off. Also pull all the wires off Terminal 3, they are not required. The wires on terminals 1, 4, and 6 are also not required, but it will do no harm to leave them as they have no effect on the broadband..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION