Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    stats check please think iv been capped

    This is a discussion on stats check please think iv been capped within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; should be on adsl2+ but the upload speed seems to have dropped alot......................ort Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx ...

    1. #1
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      stats check please think iv been capped,still errors after new face plate fitted

      should be on adsl2+ but the upload speed seems to have dropped alot......................ort Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1023 1132 0 555 4462 00:03:43
      LAN 100M/Full 639 0 0 339 0 00:04:33
      WLAN 54M 1401 1721 0 4360 797 00:04:20
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 34 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 2147483647 db
      Last edited by chrisc; 08-08-10 at 11:14 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      Not capped but looking at the pustream noise margin you do have a problem.

      Can you get the stats again but this time from the TEST socket:- How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      Also, try swapping the filter.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      With your long line you would probably better off on G.DMT.

      As Smithy says, you have a problem, very low upstream margins can sometimes be caused by faulty filters. Try changing yours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      i have adsl face plate should i change it ,it is about 4 yr old and some of the connections on it dont crimp the cable tight anymore,im shure my upload speed was a lot faster the download is the same as always.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      Your upload would be faster, but it is now showing a negative noise margin, which means it is creating errors.

      Try plugging a filter into the Test socket and take the stats, it could be the faceplate that has gone bad. it does happen.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      ok temp repair on faceplate new stats are AN PPPoA 214 218 0 117 445 00:05:30
      LAN 100M/Full 539 0 0 171 0 00:07:27
      WLAN 54M 866 1067 0 774 314 00:07:14
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3068 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 34 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 27 db

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      Looks capped at 3072/256 adsl2plus at the moment. Reboot the router and check if the upstream shoots up. If not, then call up sky to do it.

    9. #8
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      great many thanks

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      You would be better replacing the faceplate as soon as you can. If the fault returns you will be knocked right back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stats check please think iv been capped

      yes just ordered new faceplate will keep you posted on result as i thought id fixed problem but it has returned many thanks for help

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION