Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

    This is a discussion on IE + Newsreader = No Internet. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, just after a bit of help/advice. Switched back to sky broadband 8 days ago and my current stats are, ...

    1. #1
      avolee's Avatar
      avolee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      Hi, just after a bit of help/advice. Switched back to sky broadband 8 days ago and my current stats are,

      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 1117 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 12.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 9.0 db

      My problem is that while browsing the internet everything seems fine but as soon as i start using newsbin at the same time my connection crashes and i have to switch off my router to get it back. I used to be on sky over 12months ago and never had this problem. Is my line speed to high? or could it be something else.

      many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      It is possible the newsbin is sucking all the bandwidth out of your connection. Can you adjust the speed it downloads?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      Can you alter the amount of streams it is using, I can on Newsleecher and find that if I use 10 streams I have the same problem but drop it to 8 and that cures it.

      I think you are just getting the bandwidth sucked out by your newsreader.

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      He's a pain that Newsreader!

      There is no p in Thomson.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      He certainly is Stanley

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      I promise that I have nothing to do with your issues.

      He's a pain that Newsreader!
      I did used to like you.

      He certainly is Stanley
      And you!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      avolee's Avatar
      avolee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Can you alter the amount of streams it is using, I can on Newsleecher and find that if I use 10 streams I have the same problem but drop it to 8 and that cures it.

      I think you are just getting the bandwidth sucked out by your newsreader.
      i did try altering the connections and trying to limit bandwidth on newsbin but to no avail. i have just tried newsleecher and set to 8 connections and all seems to be going well.

      thanks to everyone else for the replies.

    9. #8
      avolee's Avatar
      avolee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      spoke to soon, tried setting a maximum download speed on newsleecher, (just found out how to do that). tried doing a speed test and got these results.

      Last edited by avolee; 03-08-10 at 01:49 PM.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      Looks like you are on the new up to 40Mb package

      I think you have to reduce the streams as Smithy says, not the actual speed. No doubt he will put you right later.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: IE + Newsreader = No Internet.

      Click on the manager tab, the server and then the edit button, choose the amount of streams, start a 2 and work up, I use 8 which seems to cure the problem for me.

      Just out of interest, I have just noticed how much I have downloaded this way and it is at 1350.2gb, not sure in what time period though as I cannot remember when it was last reset

      Glad Sky have an unlimeted bandwidth

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION