Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Low throughput

    This is a discussion on Low throughput within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Having had a number of issues I still find that my average speed being around 4.5mg which is worse than ...

    1. #1
      RL54's Avatar
      RL54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Low throughput

      Having had a number of issues I still find that my average speed being around 4.5mg which is worse than that I had with BT.
      Sky are telling me that I am getting 15mg and when I disable my avast I get around 5.5mg so why is there such a discrepancy between what they say I am getting and what all the bb speed tester say

      Router Statistics
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15386 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0db 15.5db
      Noise Margin 7.4db 20.5db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Max/Unlimited user

      Wireless?

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Max/Unlimited user

      RL54, are you using wireless, if so try a wire and changing your router channel.

    5. #4
      RL54's Avatar
      RL54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max/Unlimited user

      Thanks for your response
      So if I use an ethernet connection my speeds should soar? (well, climb a bit?)
      If I'm connected via ethernet, can other still connect wirelessly at the same time?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Low throughput

      With ethernet, you should get a download speed of around 13.4Mb, if you PC is set up properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Low throughput

      You can use a mixture of wireless and ethernet connections at the samw time without a problem. What else is connected?

    8. #7
      RL54's Avatar
      RL54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low throughput

      Thanks everyone, for your comments and advice.I'll have to get a longer ethernet cable.
      What is connected?
      My kids work at home from time to time on a Mac and a netbook so they will be accessing via wireless. plus, of course, the obligatory iPhone.
      I wish the blurb put out by ISPs would be a little more specific highlighting that wireless does tend to act as a bottleneck for speeds.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Low throughput

      How good a wireless connection is depends a lot on the individual circumstances. The fabric of the building and the type of adapter used play a big part. Some adapters work better with the router than others. It is also important to make sure you have the latest drivers installed for the adapter. I have a wireless connected PC which downloads only a few kilobits slower than my main one which is connected by ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      RL54's Avatar
      RL54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low throughput

      Just a quick note of thanks to all.
      Now that I have attached and ethernet cable for my desk top I am getting, reliably 12.8mbps with my avast anti virus on. add 2mbps if I switch it off temporarily.
      I just wish that ISPs would be clearer in their blurb about how to achieve the speeds they advertise. I am close to that now with the anti-virus off.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION