Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Can I insist on a high sync speed?

    This is a discussion on Can I insist on a high sync speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You could be suffering a build up of errors that is causing the router to reset and resync at a ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      You could be suffering a build up of errors that is causing the router to reset and resync at a lower speed. Line conditions will change through the day and it's perfectly normal that this can happen.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Cam's Avatar
      Cam
      Cam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      I'm not sure about the re-syncing, but you can alter your noise margin yourself if you aren't capped (which you aren't)

      Go here
      Mel's Notes: Dg834gt-1skuk
      Scroll down to 'Target noise margin' and change the percentage to around 80%, and then click adjust.

      It depends how stable your line is, but this change only lasts until your router has to resync or if it's rebooted But you can see what your line can handle.

      You've got exactly the same stats as mine and this worked for me, i only got about 300kbps extra, but still!

    4. #13
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      Sky emailed and informed me that I have recently been put back on DLM. Am getting some strange stats but guess this is to be expected on DLM.

      Am going to let this run its course before I start making adjustments or phoning sky again.

    5. #14
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      Just rebooted and got these stats


      Wed 21 Jul 2010 19:49:07 Noise Margin= 14.3 Sync Speed= 3776

      Would be very happy if were to stay at this. Can I now contact sky and ask them to keep it with these setting?

    6. #15
      Cam's Avatar
      Cam
      Cam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      If they've just put you on DLM, I would wait at least 10 days before seeing whether you need to phone them.

      Your connection has increased by a lot! You should be getting a much faster connection Have you changed anything recently to your connection?

    7. #16
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      Received a voicemail today from sky to tell me they have reconfigured my line and I now have these stats.

      Thu 22 Jul 2010 17:17:49 Noise Margin= 7.2 Sync Speed= 5236

      Doubt this will last tho as I gather it shouldnt be possble to go that fast on my line. Hopefully they will have capped it as this would do quite nicely!!

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      what are you full stats like now?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      What's your attenuation and upload speed now? I would guess you have been moved from G.DMT to ADSL2+. It does not always work well on long lines, but sometimes it does.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      These are my current stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5236 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.5 db 34.7 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 15.9 db

      Is there any way to tell about the different type of connection?

      Think the noise margin might start to be a bit of an issue soon, seems to gave gradually decreased over the past 24 hours.

    11. #20
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I insist on a high sync speed?

      Oh well, it was good while it lasted!! Back to square one with these stats now


      Fri 23 Jul 2010 17:23:42 Noise Margin= 9.4 Sync Speed= 3282

      Would be happy with somewhere in between. the two sync speeds. Will see what sky say when I contact them tomorrow.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION