Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Where's my missing megs?!

    This is a discussion on Where's my missing megs?! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since I've been with sky unlimited, I've sync'ed at around 16meg. And it's been great. The details on my sky ...

    1. #1
      kan.grewal's Avatar
      kan.grewal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Where's my missing megs?!

      Since I've been with sky unlimited, I've sync'ed at around 16meg. And it's been great.

      The details on my sky broadband connection on the website say that my line was tested in February and my line set to 15meg. Still fine.

      However, my router is saying that it's sync'ed at 10meg. It's plugged into the master socket (it's never moved and nothing's changed at my end since the good ol' 16meg days!)

      Stats below (I post them, but they mean nothing to me!)

      Connection Speed
      Downstream: 10400 kbps
      Upstream: 1024 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      Downstream: 24.0 db
      Upstream: 16.0 db

      Noise Margin
      Downstream: 5.8 db
      Upstream: 8.0 db

      I've emailed sky using the contact us form on the website asking for some explanation...would you believe I've heard nothing back from them!?!

      I turn to you oh great internet community (thanks in advance everyone)

      Cheers,
      Kan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      Noise issue, unplug all other devices and use the test socket (assuming you've got one). The SNR is too low to give anything as it is now...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      kan.grewal's Avatar
      kan.grewal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      Ok, so what I should be looking at is getting the 5.8db down?

    5. #4
      Paradox One's Avatar
      Paradox One is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      What is the right Noise Margin?

      There is no “right” but the higher the figure the better.

      When the router negotiates with the exchange it is trying to sync at the highest speed possible with a noise margin of 6.9db or higher. If you have understood the guide so far you will appreciate that this means that for anyone with a line attenuation of much above 32db will probably always see their router report a noise margin of 6.9db when the router connects.

      So if you check your noise margin now will it be 6.9? Only if you’ve only just powered up the router. Noise varies through the day depending on a variety of environmental factors plus cross-talk from other local Sky ADSL users (the more active other users are the more noise generated). It will have been 6.9 (higher with a short line) when it first connected but the current noise levels may be higher or lower than they were then so the margin will/may have changed.

      Most people find their noise margin is at its lowest in the evening, typically between 6 and 10.
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained

    6. #5
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      Quote Originally Posted by kan.grewal View Post
      Ok, so what I should be looking at is getting the 5.8db down?
      For the 16mb you had before your looking to get the noise margin up to around 17db at 10mb (if your capped that is, otherwise your speed will just go up and noise stay the same)
      Just wondering have you got SKY's line rental and been recently moved onto the svbn?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #6
      simonchimera's Avatar
      simonchimera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      I have had the same issue recently with my connection dropping from roughly 16500 kbps download to the below

      Download
      Connection Speed 13307 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db
      Noise Margin 10 db

      Upload
      Connection Speed 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db
      Noise Margin 15 db

      I've also emailed sky today but any input from you guys would be appreciated.

    8. #7
      kan.grewal's Avatar
      kan.grewal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      Not on Sky's line rental....svbn?

      simonchimera - how did you email them? wondering if I should try another address/form
      Don't think I could face phoning them!

    9. #8
      simonchimera's Avatar
      simonchimera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      just off the contact us form, just search for slow broadband or something like that and make sure you're signed in to sky and it sends off a email form.

      I used it a couple of months ago and they got back to me within a day or so so hopefully they will respond pretty quickly.

      edit: just re-read your original post and it looks like you used the same form, maybe try changing the subject of the form? I used "slow connection with Sky Broadband". I'll let you know if i get a response.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      @simonchimera

      Better to start your own thread than hijack this one

      @OP

      Have you put your router in the test socket as I suggested? You need to get the noise margin UP to prove a possible wiring issue your end (or you may just see the speed go back to what it was before, highlighting a definite wiring issue)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Where's my missing megs?!

      Quote Originally Posted by simonchimera View Post
      just off the contact us form, just search for slow broadband or something like that and make sure you're signed in to sky and it sends off a email form.

      I used it a couple of months ago and they got back to me within a day or so so hopefully they will respond pretty quickly.

      edit: just re-read your original post and it looks like you used the same form, maybe try changing the subject of the form? I used "slow connection with Sky Broadband". I'll let you know if i get a response.
      I wouldnt use the online form for speed issues, to have your line profile changed or max delays then yes but not for sync speed issues.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION