Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    My Internet Speeds

    This is a discussion on My Internet Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I am on the Sky Unlimited Package and these are the speeds I am getting: ADSL Link | Downstream ...

    1. #1
      Safinn's Avatar
      Safinn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Internet Speeds

      Hello, I am on the Sky Unlimited Package and these are the speeds I am getting:

      ADSL Link | Downstream | Upstream
      Connection Speed | 7002 kbps | 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation | 39.5 db | 24.0 db
      Noise Margin | 5.1 db | 18.0 db

      Should I be getting higher speeds or are these ok?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speeds

      Can you confirm if these stats are taken from your master or preferably test socket

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    4. #3
      littlerosieposie's Avatar
      littlerosieposie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newcastle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speeds

      Your speeds depend upon your Estimated Access Line Speed - what were you quoted at the time of sale - this is also given when logging into mysky and viewing your bb package.

      Im on Unlimited and my dsl capability is 6.5mbps - I do get 9mbps, but know that if it pushes up higher, I end up with an intermittent bb. So I'm happy with what I have. That said, depending on line quality, you may never even achieve the top end of your dsl capabilites.

      Just cos your on unlimited doesn't mean your going to get 20mb - see that 'up to' - it means 'up to' and not 'you'll get'.

      lrp

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by littlerosieposie View Post
      Your speeds depend upon your Estimated Access Line Speed - what were you quoted at the time of sale - this is also given when logging into mysky and viewing your bb package.
      I got estimated 4mb, I get 14 the estimated is just a stupidly over cautious estimation which is hardly ever accurate.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speeds

      Sky's EALS is indeed way off in terms of proper estimates a lot of the time.

    7. #6
      Safinn's Avatar
      Safinn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speeds

      No, the stats are not from the master socket and I cannot use the master socket because of where it is located.

      I was estimated at 5mb and I do know that it's "up to" not "you will get" 20mb but I was just wondering if I can improve it somehow.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speeds

      The only way you're going to improve your speed is by raising your noise margin. You can't push out any more speed at the moment due to noise. However, the only way to get around this would be to move the router to the master socket with a short dsl cable and check for improvements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION