Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Re-cabling - worth it or not?

This is a discussion on Re-cabling - worth it or not? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Whilst not being completely alien to broadband setup, I'm also far from an expert so wondered if anybody had ...

russ_g_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleveleys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Thanks

Re-cabling - worth it or not?

Hi,

Whilst not being completely alien to broadband setup, I'm also far from an expert so wondered if anybody had any advice for me. I'm trying to get the best connection possible as 2 of my kids are running Xbox Live along with us running a couple of laptops. Forgive me if this waffles on a bit

I changed over to Sky in June and went live with Sky Unlimited in middle of June. After the 10 day period for Sky to set-up my connection, it was set at 3Mbps. With my previous ISP (Plusnet) I was getting around 16Mbps. I contacted Sky who did a check and found I had a lot of errors on my line and asked my to test my line stats. Testing it on the extension I was running off gave me a downstream of around 4000kbps und upstream of around 300kbps. Testing from the test socket gave me 8190kbps and 766kbps respectively. As this to me showed a problem with the extension line, I hard wired it into the NTE5 socket last night and, across the extension, achieved the same speeds as from the test - 8190kbps and 766kbps. I asked Sky if I should be getting higher than this and they said it would have been capped at 8190 during the testing but, now I've sorted the extension out, they will reconfigure. I'll wait and see what I get then.