Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky Unlimited Upgrade

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited Upgrade within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Been on the forum for awhile but never made an account so this is my first post Just upgraded ...

    1. #1
      munchermark's Avatar
      munchermark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      Hi

      Been on the forum for awhile but never made an account so this is my first post

      Just upgraded to the Sky Unlimited today from the basic connection, did it over the phone at lunch but the connection hasn't changed. Still receiving 1020kbps and its killing me. Does anyone know how long it usually takes them to take the current cap off?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      up to 72hrs
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      munchermark's Avatar
      munchermark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      Whats the process they go through for it to take up 72 hours?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      If you were only getting 1020kbps on Basic there is something wrong with your connection. You should have been getting 2 Mb. It could be your connection is so bad you will not get any more. Post you stats -
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      Quote Originally Posted by munchermark View Post
      Whats the process they go through for it to take up 72 hours?
      It is up to 72 hours before anything will happen, and when it does it will by DLM training for 10 days so do not disconnect your router during this time. If you login to sky.com it should keep you up to date there with what is happening.

    7. #6
      munchermark's Avatar
      munchermark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 20838 28092 0 424 3658 02:19:23
      LAN 100M/Full 1259 0 0 41 0 02:20:53
      WLAN 11M/54M 28935 22790 0 3718 465 02:20:41
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1020 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51 db 32 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 11 db

      any thoughts

    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      You'll be lucky to get 2mb on those stats. Your attenuation shows you should get more than that but your noise margin doesnt!
      Try reposting stats from your test socket and we'll see if there is more to be had.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #8
      munchermark's Avatar
      munchermark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      just restarted the router and now have an 11db noise margin if thats makes much difference? havent got a test socket due to age of the house

    10. #9
      dLockers's Avatar
      dLockers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      Quote Originally Posted by munchermark View Post
      just restarted the router and now have an 11db noise margin if thats makes much difference? havent got a test socket due to age of the house
      Get a new socket fitted/line tested.

      Mine was free of charge because Sky called the engineer out, rather than myself.

      Dodgy wired extensions in old houses is a major cause of crap speeds.

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Upgrade

      It goes up to 3mb with 11db margin but theres no guarantee it'll be stable, either way your attenuation should be good for 6mb but your noise isnt. You most certainly should look at getting the wiring sorted out and a proper NTE5 linebox fitting - dlockers was lucky getting it done for him but it isnt normal you either have to pay BT to do it usually or fit it yourself.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION