Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Windows 7 64bit

    This is a discussion on Windows 7 64bit within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I recently clean installed Windows 7 64bit from my previous Vista 32 bit, install went perfectly. No trouble at all. ...

    1. #1
      Hyweljm's Avatar
      Hyweljm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Windows 7 64bit

      I recently clean installed Windows 7 64bit from my previous Vista 32 bit, install went perfectly. No trouble at all.

      Now I insert the disk I used to install Sky broadband on Vista and the disk runs perfectly, router lights are working perfectly but I'm not connecting.

      I'm using a wired ethernet connection.
      When I attempt to solve the problem through Windows troubleshooter it says the drivers haven't been installed.
      Can anyone help?
      I figured the drivers were installed with the disk, if not.
      Can someone link me some drivers which I can burn? Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      The Sky install disk contains nothing that you need.
      The only driver that you require is the one that controls your Ethernet port.
      Is the port enabled?


    4. #3
      Hyweljm's Avatar
      Hyweljm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      Yerp, they're all enabled I believe, I will double check now.
      Well, all my LAN controllers are defaulted to Auto in the Bios

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      You may need ethernet drivers from either your motherboard manufacturer or PC manufacturers websites.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Hyweljm's Avatar
      Hyweljm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      Why would they work perfectly when I have vista installed but not 7?
      Surely I have the same motherboard just a different OS, there shouldn't be any problems right?

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      Isnt that a bit obvious? Your computer came pre-setup with vista you've deleted everything and switched from one architecture (32-bit) to a different one (64-bit). 64-bit and 32-bit drivers are not compatible with each other and you may need specific 64-bit drivers.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    8. #7
      Hyweljm's Avatar
      Hyweljm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      Great...Where do I go from here then? I'm a bit of an idiot when it comes to this.

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      If your computer is pre-built by Dell, Acer, HP or another company go onto there websites first to search for 64-bit drivers.
      If you built it yourself then find out who makes your motherboard and go onto there website for 64-bit drivers.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #9
      Hyweljm's Avatar
      Hyweljm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      I suck, do you think If I gave you my motherboard information you could find them for me?
      I'd gladly appreciate it.
      IN9 32X MAX
      By Abit.
      Thing Is, I've found some things but nothing which seems to support the drivers

    11. #10
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 64bit

      I guess you could try the fixit center,
      Microsoft Fix it Center Online


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION