Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    first day activated

    This is a discussion on first day activated within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No, it just says "Line testing is not currently in progress." What speeds should I expect?...

    1. #11
      andreic's Avatar
      andreic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      No, it just says "Line testing is not currently in progress."

      What speeds should I expect?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      It is difficult to say what you will end up with. In theory you should get 16+Mb, but your noise margin indicates that you are on the maximum at the moment. As it is a new line, give it a few more days to settle, it may improve yet again. After all, you have gone from 1Mb to 12Mb in the last 24 hours when on the face of it, there was no room for improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      Woah, not sure what happened overnight, but that's some improvement!

    5. #14
      andreic's Avatar
      andreic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      DLM has started.
      Stats at the moment are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11261 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 11.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 15.4 db

      Should I hope for a significant increase?

      Thanks for the help so far.

    6. #15
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      Looks like that's the max your going to get as your at the target noise margin (6.9db)

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #16
      andreic's Avatar
      andreic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11261 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 11.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 16.0 db

      I guess it can still go higher

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      Not really, most lines will fluctuate a few decibels over 24 hours. Just because you are over the default with one reading does not mean you will not fall below it at another time. As I said earlier, you should get more but it seems your line is not allowing it. To confirm what you can get, you would need to disconnect the wires to your extension at the first socket in your flat and take the stats. This is not to be done if you are not confident you can put them back properly.
      If you have a wire on Terminal 3, that can be taken off quite safely. It is the 'bell' wire, is not required with filters and can cause problems with broadband.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      andreic's Avatar
      andreic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11263 kbps 1117 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 11.1 db
      Noise Margin 5.3 db 8.9 db

      Came back with the most recent reading. The Sky website says I've been put on 11mb/1 mb download/upload - is it possible that the fact the line was brand new affected the dlm? Can I have it restarted, and would I get different speeds?

      Thank you.

    10. #19
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: first day activated

      No point restarting it on those stats because there isnt any noise in reserve. You can give the line a few weeks to settle in and if the noise goes up significantly ring them up to get the speed increased, just dont expect anything extra right now!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION