Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    fine in the day doesnt work at night

    This is a discussion on fine in the day doesnt work at night within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guys i have a wierd problem with my adsl during the day it works fine but at night i ...

    1. #1
      emu123's Avatar
      emu123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      fine in the day doesnt work at night

      hi guys
      i have a wierd problem with my adsl during the day it works fine but at night i cant load any web pages
      i phoned technical support and after trying everything with tier 1 support i then got passed through to tier 2
      they didnt suggest to try anything but are sending me a new router

      what worries me is that the connection works fine in the day but not the evening

      attached my router stats thanks in advance

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 12:23:21
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6318 5890 0 43 45 12:21:38
      LAN 100M/Full 7679 8136 0 45 57 12:23:16
      WLAN 11M/54M 4097 1511 0 30 6 12:23:03
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5437 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44 db 25 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 15 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      This would point to an electrical item that is only on at night, Christmas tree lights for example can do this!! (i know-wrong time of year). Street lighting/heating boiler could be the cause. A BT 80B RF3 maybe worth a try if you can't pin it down.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      By the way, do you connect wirelessly? Some routers have a sleep function for the wireless which is usually defaulted to off at night.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      emu123's Avatar
      emu123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      By the way, do you connect wirelessly? Some routers have a sleep function for the wireless which is usually defaulted to off at night.
      Hi
      thanks for the quick reply i have two laptops connected on wireless and one main computer which is hooked up wired
      all computers are the same in the evening and struggle to load a webpage
      whats odd is i have had sky adsl for about two years and it has been fine up till now

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      Plug into the test socket if you have one and see if it coincides with any equipment coming on at night.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      emu123's Avatar
      emu123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Plug into the test socket if you have one and see if it coincides with any equipment coming on at night.
      did try the test socket a few nights ago with the same results trying to rack my brain but i cant think of any equipment that comes on at night that is not on in the day

      new router should be here tomorrow so will have to try that, ps they tried to charge me 28 quid for a new one but i told them i wouldnt pay it so they sent it for free

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      It can be equipment some distance away, we did a job once & when we left all was fine, that evening we got a phone call-Internet down. Arrived back, no sync, switch off the Christmas lights that were on the garage some distance away and sync came back!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      You have a fairly high noise margin and a low sync speed, which suggests you have noise on your line. With a decent line you should get 7-8Mb. This may only be happening in the evening which would cause your speed to slow down. Take your stats in the evening when your speed has slowed and see if there is a difference in the margin. I think you will find it drops right down.

      You could also download and run Routerstats Lite which will show if and when the noise comes on to your line. - Internet Software

      You should also plug into your Test socket, as suggested and try the stats from there. This will show whether the problem is within or outside you internal wiring. Hopefully it is within your wiring as this is much easier to fix.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      emu123's Avatar
      emu123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      looks like i can rule the problem being specific to night time
      the internet has now been down most of the day so will have to investigate when i get home

    11. #10
      emu123's Avatar
      emu123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: fine in the day doesnt work at night

      System Up Time: 00:11:46

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1917 1743 0 465 2581 00:10:09
      LAN 100M/Full 3779 4785 0 3647 1198 00:11:41
      WLAN 11M/54M 367 77 0 255 24 00:06:27
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6108 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 15 db

      taken me about 10 minutes to get to this page and post

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION