Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Sagem Router problem

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just to backtrack, what do you mean by this - ehternet cable connected into the top yellow one Do you ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      Just to backtrack, what do you mean by this -
      ehternet cable connected into the top yellow one
      Do you mean the yellow port on the router? If so, try it in another port. If you have more than one ethernet port on your PC, try the one you have not been using.

      Make sure the cable between the PC and router is connected, open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all hit enter and copy and paste the results here.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      trevmcfaull's Avatar
      trevmcfaull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      but it says there is a cable disconnected

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      but it says there is a cable disconnected
      In that case, if you have tried different cables and get the same, either the PC's or the router's ethernet port is damaged.

      It does help if you confirm that you have tried the suggestions that have been made.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      trevmcfaull's Avatar
      trevmcfaull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      sorry about that
      Windows IP configuration

      Host Name...........................:Trev
      Primary Dns Suffix...............:
      Node Type ...........................:Broadcast
      IP Routing Enabled................No
      Wins Proxy Enabled..............No

      Ehternet adapter Local Area Connection 3 :

      Media State........................................Media disconnected
      Description....................................... ..NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Networking Controller
      Physical Address...............................00-22-15-B4-38-E9

      And I have tried teh othehr connections on the routerand its all the same as before

      Sorry I haven't been answering that I ahve done the things you have said but I have tried all the things you have told me to and still the same

      Trev

    6. #15
      trevmcfaull's Avatar
      trevmcfaull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      And only have 1 ethernet port on my PC

    7. #16
      trevmcfaull's Avatar
      trevmcfaull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      Cables and router are good cause it works when I connect directly to this laptop

    8. #17
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      Sounds like the ethernet nic either needs its drivers updated or the ethernet port on the computer itself is faulty.

      In the device manager you were in previously, under the 'network adapters' it will list your ethernet controller. Did this have any red crosses or yellow exclamation marks?

    9. #18
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      I had a similar issue on my xbox 360, said it was disconnected when it was plugged in! Turned out one of the pins in the socket was bent and not making contact with the cable. Take a torch out and inspect the pins inside your computers ethernet socket visibly for bending or any other damage.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      I think the port on your PC is damaged, as mentioned it may be a bent pin which can be straightened, but usually they are unfixable. I would say your best bet is to pick up a PCI plug in network card and put it in your PC. They are not very expensive and easy to fit, here is a cheap one which will do the job, just make sure you have a spare PCI slot-
      TP-Link 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit PCI Network Card - Aria Technology

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      trevmcfaull's Avatar
      trevmcfaull is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router problem

      Thank you all for yoir suggestions and you were right. I bought a PCI network adaptor card and its all working great. So that you all again

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION