Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds in Dunfermline area? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have noticed a drastic drop in speed. Nothing to do with internal wiring or anything this has all ...

    1. #1
      Stevieoha's Avatar
      Stevieoha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      Hi,

      I have noticed a drastic drop in speed. Nothing to do with internal wiring or anything this has all been checked with Sky. I was told I had been upgraded at my local Dunfermline exchange and I am now on Sky's equipment, which is probably around the same time this all started happening.

      I will leave till tomorrow then I will phone again to see what can be done. I have went from 4.7mb to around 500k in last few days and eveything is grinding to a halt.

      My attenuation is bad I know but I have always had a decent speed of around 4.5mb for couple of years now.

      NetGear DG834GT [Sky Firmware] V1-White

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed4600 kbps863 kbps
      Line Attenuation57.5 db36.5 db
      Noise Margin7.1 db7.6 db

      I tells me 4.6 mb but when I am gaming or downloading or streaming video etc it really is becoming terrible. I have done a few speedtests and they all are between 500k - 1mb.

      Just wondering if anyone else from around same area has the same problems?.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      Theres nothing from your stats which indicates problems. It's possible you have errors on your line though which is causing the thoroughput to drop. Could you test the router in the test socket (behind the bottom faceplate of a BT NTE5 master socket)? Additionally have you tried changing your filters?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      Stevieoha's Avatar
      Stevieoha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      I did both what you mentioned this afternoon and its all still the same .

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      It's probably an external fault then so you need to get SKY onto it i'm afraid

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Stevieoha's Avatar
      Stevieoha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      Would I be right in saying that if I have been moved onto SVBN then my line will start a training period again to determine the best speed?.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      Quote Originally Posted by Stevieoha View Post
      Would I be right in saying that if I have been moved onto SVBN then my line will start a training period again to determine the best speed?.
      Should do, yes.

      Any noise on the landline since the move to SVBN?

    8. #7
      Stevieoha's Avatar
      Stevieoha is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds in Dunfermline area?

      No noise at all on the line. Starting to annoy me now a whole 3 meg dropped since the move to SVBN.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION