Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    My Stats.

    This is a discussion on My Stats. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've had Sky Broadband for about 3 months now, all seems good. Would like someone to check my stats ...

    1. #1
      Cyber's Avatar
      Cyber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Stats.

      Hi, I've had Sky Broadband for about 3 months now, all seems good.

      Would like someone to check my stats to see if everything is as it should be.

      These stats are taken from the Master Socket using the ADSL Nation Filtered face plate.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9983 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 18.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 9.0 db

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Stats.

      Stats look fine to me, your slightly capped so you could phone sky and maybe get a few 100kbps but it's hardly worth it.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      TTT's Avatar
      TTT
      TTT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Stats look fine to me, your slightly capped....
      Can I ask how from the figures you can tell that the line is capped?....Just interested.

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Stats.

      Noise margin higher than 6.9db indicates capping.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Cyber's Avatar
      Cyber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats.

      Hi, what is Sky's default noise margin? What is their limit?

    7. #6
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: My Stats.

      7db is the normal target, your line is fine and just because it has a 7.2db noise margin
      doesnt mean it is capped its normal for the SNR to move slightly over the period of the day.

      Personaly imho its not worth the hassle of calling Sky jumping through hoops unless the line is capped enough to make it worth while, ie anything over at least 10db SNR.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Stats.

      Taking the stats at a busy time on the line will probably show a lower figure. The line is probably capped but only at a speed the line can maintain and stay stable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION